Transitioning

Hi Folks..

I have to admit that I'm getting really tired of programming, and there is so much I want to do with my properties, but I lack the time.

Eventually I'd like to move into investing full time, but I'm not sure how to approach this.

I can imagine that it would be much easier if I was self employed, just do less and less (trade) and more and more investing / renovating. It's hard to think about how to get out of a full time position (I'm a manager so part time work is a little out of the question at this point.)

So if there is anyone out there who has quit a full time job to invest/renovate, I have a few questions for you!

How did you go about sourcing OPM when on paper, you are unemployed? I know my OK salary makes a big difference in my servicability etc.

Did you have to draw down equity to pay the bills? What happens when the market isn't rising quickly? (Like now.)

Did you have any other sources of passive income (shares, managed funds etc)?

How large was your property portfolio when you took "the leap"?

4 weeks a year just aint long enough

Cornflower

:confused:

Hi Cornflower,

Have you considered staying in IT but moving to a shiftwork position?

When I worked shiftwork a few years ago, usually 8pm-4am the amount of time that I had to do stuff during the day was fantastic!

It's hard for some people to get used to the change, but consider this....you don't travel through peak hour traffic, you don't fight the hoards to do your shopping on thur/fri night or saturday morning, you can go to the bank when they are open, go to the gym when you want, catch the sunshine when it is out and spend a couple of hours each day looking for and maintaining/improving your props.

Glenn

Hi Glenn,

If I was 15 years younger and had the energy to stay up all night, that would be a marvelous suggestion! Whenever did you sleep?! That's amazing.