Undeveloped & Undivided Land in Western Sydney

Hi,

I've come across a project of buying a block of undivided and undeveloped land in South West Sydney. The total land area has not been rezoned yet. It'll take roughly 3-4 years for the rezoning and DA approval process. I'm pretty optimistic about the growth in that area with the proposed Airport (which has got the final confirmation), proposed M9 & M12 in the vicinity of the project. Since I'm new at this I was wondering what are the risks of committing to such projects. I could think of the following ones:

i) the rezoning process gets delayed than the expected time frame (my investment will be stuck for longer period of time)

ii) the finance - is there any loan available for the DA approved properties? (the land block won't still be under my name until the actual development happens, it'll still be under a single title of huge undeveloped land.)

Please share your thoughts of what other risks there might be in the project.

Cheers,

One major factor is uncertainty and the other is the is no tenants to pay for the portion of the loan. Therefore, u have basically land banking and not utilising your hard earn cash.

I guess from my point if view it all comes down to return on investment.

Maybe good for very long time wise but it depends on the selling price.

Why would they rezone the area again? It all got rezoned as part of the southwest growth centre... How much are you looking to spend on a risk like that...

The planning process is
Precinct > release > rezone.
If they're not marked as a Precinct in the SWGC website, I would think there is at least 20+ years. The shortest time frame for a Release to Rezone is 2-3 years in NWGC, and that was a lot of push from the State Government with house shortage few years back.

Also watch out for land tax is you're land banking as IP.

What makes you think it will be rezoned at all? Is the land marked for rezoning under a draft LEP?