Surveyor Costs and Project Management Fees

Hello forum!

I am a newbie...both to the forum and the property market :)

1st Project ....Looking to buy a block of land approx 2400 sqm with an existing house in Sydney SouthWest Growth Centre very soon (currently in the contract drafting stage).

The plan is to retain the existing house (about 450 sqm lot) and subdivide the remaining land into 4-5 lots all subject to council approval. There are ongoing new developments under construction all around the property including the adjacent lot, so I am hopeful about the approval.

Been in touch with a local surveyor to quote his fees for surveying, DA approval, service coordination and project management and he has provided the following quote. The Question is are these fees reasonable?? Or is it just a case of an inexperienced and uninformed newcomer like me being targeted for a big margin? as I have no idea of what these fees would normally be for such a subdivision in these area.

- Detail and Contour Survey $3,330+GST

- DA plan and SOEE $3,500+GST

- Road Survey and Engineering Design $5,000+GST

- Water and Sewer Water Service Co-ordinator $8,000+GST

- Project Management $4,000+GST

- Site Supervision $2,250+GST

- Cadastral Surveying $6,400+GST

**The submission does not include any service authority fees or charges.

Any advise will be much appreciated! :)

Cheers n Good Luck to All!

While the project management fee seems very low some of the others look exorbitantly high. I suggest you get some more quotes and compare them.

Thanks Jeremy, that helps :)

Is there a particular service in the list that is particularly high?

All the surveyor said when quoting was that the adjoining developer had advised him that the services in the area are very shallow. But shouldn't that mostly affect my costing for establishing the services?

Thanks again!

Are all of those costs from one person or company?