What computer to use?

It is time to buy a new computer but we are trying to determine if a laptop will do the job or will we have to buy the desktop type. We just use it for banking, correspondence, this forum etc. Laptops seem to be very compact and take up so little room. Any suggestions?

Just beware that DELL laptops have just been banned from travelling on all Qantas flights due to a serious problem with the batteries (it can explode, DELL and SONY or working on solving this serious issue).

You are on the right track, desktops are so 1990s.

Laptop + wireless router + broadband = 21st century computing bliss. I'm typing this whilst sipping coffee, reading a paper & looking out on the backyard from the kitchen table. Who said males can't multi task ?

I'm using a previous generation of one of these which are extremely good unless you love trouble-shooting operating system problems and are attached to viruses and spyware. ;) :p

Good luck. :)

Well I'm not a computer expert either but I want to tell you my story because it might help you weigh up a couple of options. I bought a u bewt desk top set up 16 months or so ago and loved it. Flat screen, heaps of memory, the best we could afford. I think all up about $2800. Anyway, I share it with a 13 year old and 20 year old. Both students both boys. I also had to invest in a high back $500 chair to minimise neck pain so I could use the computer for long periods. Anyway, between both of my sons they managed to download viruses twice from Limewire and that destroyed everything on the C drive. :mad: Twice its been back to Harvey Normans for the very understanding technician to nurse the C drive back to health.
My option three months ago was to buy another desktop for my own personal use or a lap top, and give up on trying to keep the desk top pristine. I refused to share anymore with the boys.