Which Dishwasher?

Needing to put a dishwasher in a brand new IP (duplex unit) located in Sydney South worth around $650k.
Don't have much experience in white goods, so any advice from others experiences appreciated.

Only has to be white as other appliances are white.
Do I go for a budget model and hope it performs and lasts ok, or go for better quality for the long run with probably better performance?

After looking online at some reviews, Bosch seems to be good, and can get a German model for $839 - floor model, this is probably the limit I want to spend.

Can anybody recommend some mid range brands, maybe $400 to $600 which perform well based on price?

My parents bought a cheapie from Bunnings about 6 months ago, still going strong.

Price was somewhere around $400, so another option to consider. I can't find them on their website though so you may need to head into the store to get a price.

I needed this in a hurry so got this one today:

http://www.getprice.com.au/Dishlex-DX203WK-Dishwashers.htm

Read some reviews and it seems to be very good, especially for a cheap model.
Got it for $549 (best price available, better than online sellers) from 2nds World, which was only 5 minutes away from me, so great convenience there.
It's brand new so comes with 2 year warranty + get an extra year extended warranty from my credit card provider, so 3 years all up.

Hope it performs well.

I suppose sometimes you can be lucky or unlucky with the real cheap ones.
Some cheap appliances you just want to die after a while, so you can upgrade, can sometimes go on forever and ever, no matter how rough you treat them.

You moved fast!

The way I see it is that if you can get something that gives a similar wash for half the price then you can always buy another in a few years if it breaks and still be even and have the warranty :)

My parents bought a cheapie from Bunnings about 6 months ago, still going strong.

Price was somewhere around $400, so another option to consider. I can't find them on their website though so you may need to head into the store to get a price.

There's something about appliances from Bunnings I don't feel comfortable with.
Maybe it's the unknown brands they sell, or the unknown performance factor.
They have not been selling appliances for too a long time yet, so it's a bit unpredictable.
Would prefer to buy established brands from more speacialist dealers.
Maybe the Bunnings appliance components are the same as other major brands, but I just don't feel it's worth the risk and hassle it it breaks down and requires service under warranty.

I live in a suburb only a few years old, I notice on the bulk junk pick up days that there are many dishwashers on the verge, all one particular brand. Now not sue to be honest but think it starts with an A

Miele - expensive but economical in the long run
Great machines, bullet proof (maybe even tenant proof - I know, now I'm being stupid) & should last 20+years.
Having said that, in our PPOR we have a Dishlex with all the electronic whiz bang controls that must have been top of the line when it was new. It was in the house when purcahsed 13 years ago & was already 2 years old then - it made some dodgy noises a couple of years back but then settled down & is still going strong....... lucky I guess :)

A dishwasher tecnician told me once that most of his service calls were to fix the electronic buttons.

The electronics in the buttons often break and are expensive to fix, while the machines with a knob just keep on going.

On a personal note, we had a Westinghouse and it was not very good, we then bought a Asko and its been great, even with electrinic controls.

go for Bosch, not too expensive, works well and is reputable. You don't want to put a cheap brand in a new property....

I know this is a old thread but .....

I find myself in the position of needing to replace a dishwasker for my Brisbane property and have no idea what to buy. I do not have or ever used a dishwaser..

The house is currently rented out but I hope to be living in it in 12 months times, hence will inherit the dishwasher for my own personal use.. So could I ask for recommendation and what you would put in for rented premises??

Thanks heaps,

Sea from Darwin

A dishwasher tecnician told me once that most of his service calls were to fix the electronic buttons.

The electronics in the buttons often break and are expensive to fix, while the machines with a knob just keep on going.

On a personal note, we had a Westinghouse and it was not very good, we then bought a Asko and its been great, even with electrinic controls.

I got told this too. So with my investment property I put in a Miele dishwasher that had a knob, rather than electronic buttons. The only problem I've had with it was that the drain pipe was blocked, but that was building debris leftover from our fabulous (not!) builders.

In my opinion, don't buy a Haier - we have had the dishwasher guy out five times for the one in our PPOR and he still can't fix it. It's only three years old too.
Cheers Ali

I always get Fisher and Paykel. They have their own technicians which sound expensive ie $65 call out and first 15 min then something like $60 per half hr or the like - but they know the product they know have the parts with them.

an eg my agent sent her plumber over who had a look and came back with a $280 quote to fix the leak 'at the back' that was reported. I rang and asked what and where was the leak because for that amount I am half way to a new DW. He said that was his - wait for it - intellectual property so he would not tell me. I rang F&P - they were there 2mins saw the front was not closing properly - one twist of a screwdriver he also noticed runners were old he replaced and was out in ten mins for $65. So how much would of have paid for old mate to be looking at the leak at the back that did not exist - $280.

Hence with all my investing I look at the long term and maybe pay a bit more - not usually with www.graysonline.com.au or 2nds world and I have cheaper repairs in the future.

Hope this helps

Jane