Who is the Principal of a trust?

I am trying to set up a HD Trust.

Am using my company as trustee.
One thing I dont really understand,
1) What does the 'Principal' do? Who is it usually?

2)And If i want my trustee company to be one of the beneficiaries, do I have to state that or is it already included in there?
What about my mum, dad and family's name, do i have to write each of them in the beneficiaries - or are they already covered?

3) Do I have to nominate a special income unitholder at this stage? Is this normally a person with the highest income(me) or can it be a company (the trustee)?

4)If 2 appointors are nominated, when a decision has to be made, do both of them have to make the decision together, or just 1?

thanks

WHat about the Unit Value for the unit component?

How is that determined? since the trust only has $10 from the settlor at the initial stage.

Hi Rodimus,

I'm still fairly new to trusts, having only set mine up yesterday, so don't take this as gospel.

But here's the definitions for you

Principal means the person described as such in the schedule to this deed and, on that person't death, in relation to any powers contained herein exercisable with the consent of the Principa, means that person't legal representative.

The principal should be you because he has powers over the trustee in some cases. For example, the Trustee needs the permission of the Principal if the Trustee wants to change the trust deed. Basically the principal needs to be consulted before the trustee can do some things.

I think that the principal is basically the beneficiary for whom the trust was set up for.

I'm not sure if the trustee company can be a beneficiary (though company's generally can be), but if your deed allows it, then the trustee can be paid reasonable professional expenses for being the trustee. It's probably a way around being a beneficiary in most cases.