Young and stuck

Hey guys, hope everyone is well.

For the past few months now, ive found it really hard to figure out where i want to go/be in the next few years - especially investment wise.

December 09 purchased a 2b unit 9km from the Adelaide cbd for $188k, which i thought was a pretty good deal. Ive set it up as IO, and have put $500-600 into the offset each week, as well as $100 to cover any negative gearing / insurance payments etc into another account which is purely for the home loan.

I have got to the point where i really have lost most of the confidence i had in the housing market (for the current and near future anyway).

I am fortunate, as im 23 and still live at home, and only have expenses such as my own personal bills/car etc. My wage is roughly $65k a year, and when HECS is paid off this year, i may have an extra $2-3k disposable income a year.

Property is my main love, but id also like to go into business for myself. I currently work in the fruit & veg industry, and would like to get involved in that. I also do love investing, so just putting money aside does bore me a little.

Is there any advice / personal experiences from others on the board who have been in similar situations? Would you sit and wait it out, buy and reno (for some quick equity), invest in shares?

Thanks for any help... very confused atm haha.

Title misleading? You are not really stuck, just unsure what to do? I do agree with you on the state of the housing market atm. I’m basically in the same boat as you, but I’m 25, I have been in the property game for 10+ years though mostly through my parents... my advice? Look for a good property with high rental demand that doesn’t cost you much to hold, preferably with some potential for reno / extension, if you can get the loan and service the debt, why not? In my 10+ years I’ve never seen rents go down on our properties.