5 vs 3 Year Options

Hi All,

Newbie here, I have a question if anyone can offer any advice about the length of options. We recently signed up a new tenant (phew, the last one was a troublesome ****) - upon the lease offer, he had offered a 3x5x5 rather than a 3x3x3. What are the pros and cons of each? We need to get back to him this week which way we want to go...

Some points:

* We don't intend on selling this place, but long tenancy tenures don't hurt.
* Building is relatively old - circa 1960s and does need a bit of work here and there but he offered to help out.
* Tenant is in the trades industry, 20 years experience and is trying to use the warehouse as a retail outlet/service his exisiting clients.
* We fear 5 years may be locking ourselves in...
* Currently agreed to a 4% increase on rent per anniversary for 3 years.
* We we intend to do is this, see how he goes for 3 yrs and if business successful, we want to increase the second term to +3,000 on the year 3 rent + continue at 4% increase per year.
* Current tenancy rate at roughly $48/m2, well below market rates.

Thanks in advance.

Never offer an option. Why should you tie your property up when the tenant is making all the decisions.

Your are worried about locking yourself in for 5 years when in fact the lowest period you nominated is actually 9 years (3+3+3 years).

If you must issue an option, then the have the initial term as 5 years with a 3 year option but the tenant is to advise in writing if they do not wish to take up the option no later than 12 months the initial terms expiry date.

Keep the increases at 4% and have a market review on the 4th year.

Seeing that the rental is below market, place a % rental clause into the lease that if the tenant achieves X business each year, then you receive a % of those sales.

Just a question. Why are you not undertaking the works required and have the tenant pay market rent.

You can then depreciate the fittings and fixtures?