a list of BS jobs and scammers

Is there a point to this thread? Just seems a bit whiney and nasty to me?

It's a case of the whingy wine flu that is going around and yes it's contagous ;)

The immunity is to remain positive :cool:

I wouldn't consider any proffession BS, there are many I will not do but people do them because they suit their life and circumstances at that particular time.

Even politicians, police and priests aren't. If you cant expect that bunch to be just about pure as snow, i give up.

My question what IS a good and honest profession? Emergency doctors? Scientists? Mountain Climbers? We already know who isn't (well not as a fact but in people's personal opinions), so what are people's opinions on what IS a good profession?

My point is there are no 'good professions'. Just good and bad in each profession/industry to widely varying degrees.

My question what IS a good and honest profession? Emergency doctors? Scientists? Mountain Climbers? We already know who isn't (well not as a fact but in people's personal opinions), so what are people's opinions on what IS a good profession?

There's plenty of cases of unethical doctors (you're 57 and would like quintuplets, see an IVF specialist in India). Plenty of scientists work for tobacco companies to refute evidence that smoking causes cancer. I don't know any mountain climbers, but I've known a few ski bums who'll screw anybody for a season pass.

We've probably all known a great teacher or two who had a massive positive influence on our lives. I've also known a few teachers that were outright abusive to some of their students.

Some car salespeople provide excellent service and are fantastic to deal with.

Every profession has great people and terrible people. It comes down to the person not the profession.

In some countries the difference between a cop and a gangster is the cop has a badge. In this country the difference between some BS jobs and scammers is the BS jobs don't provide any real service/good but still take/scam your hard earned money. My initial list is :
- some psychologists (my workplace offers 3 free sessions so the psychologist will sign you up for the 3 sessions and spit you out quicker than you can say what)
- many real estate agents and/or BAs
- 100% John Edward (crossing over medium), clairvoyant, feng shui
- 99% naturopaths, TCM, and most BS alternative medicine
- 90% financial destroyer/not an adviser
- accountants who flog HDT,
- useless pollies who junket first class tax funded fully paid holiday with the girlfriend/mistress, google half page holiday report, and who retire with $100K pa(indexed) of our tax money at age 35

Care to add some more ?

Whats wrong with TCM? Its healed me of an illness that western medicine couldn't cure.

i expect 60% out of people.

so the effort i would put in, which in any case would be 100%, allowing this margin means i will never be disappointed.

i expect 60% out of people.

so the effort i would put in, which in any case would be 100%, allowing this margin means i will never be disappointed.

I expect 110% from my team, I'm willing to pay them above industry standards and share the wealth, partnerships etc, but I do absolutely expect top performance, no whimps and no time for mousy personalities. I won't be disappointed either. ;)

and for this i applaud you.

trouble is, tradies are used to setting their own rates lower than everyone else just to secure work, so the old adage of "pay peanuts, get monkeys" is a self-fulfilling prophecy from the end that whinges about it the most.