Advice Please

Hi, seeking some advice please on what experienced investors think is a good move for me.

I'm keen to start building an investment portfolio and live in Brisbane and can see that the market is starting to go crazy. My gut (and the research i've been doing) is telling me that prices are only going to continue to rise in and I want to act as soon as I can to buy an investment property but I don't know if it is a smart idea to act now or wait until i build more equity in my PPOR. My situation is -

PPOR - value = $230k
Loan - $170k

My wage is over $100k but I am a contractor so may have trouble finding a lender (i was permanent when I got the loan for my PPOR).

What do people suggest? The area I am looking to find a property in is around the Zillmere, Chermside, Nundah, Northgate area. My other idea is to invest in Caboolture due to growth around that area and because of the lower purchase price.

Any suggestions would be extremely welcome, including the maximum value of the investment property that i should go to.

I hope I don't sound too naive but i figure this is one of the best places to ask for this advice and the more i ask the more I'll learn!

Thanks
Penny

It's an estimate. I've been following sales of similiar properties in my area in recent months. Keeping in mind that valuers are very conservative but based on similiar sales I think they'd have to come in around this amount.

Last edited:
I don't know the area, so I can't help you there, but from the finance side you should be okay. These days lenders are starting to understand contractors a little.

It will help a lot of you're employed in the same industry. A copy of the contract showing yourself as the key person to the role is also useful.