australian efficiency

hi all,

i'm an efficiency expert and project mgr by trade. i look at ways for processes and projects to be more efficient. i look at process flows etc and analyse spreadsheets and project plans and do my best to make things better. its my trade and i take this trade to everything i do....anyway, i've had a recent experience which just gives me more reason to be critical of australian industry/business in general.

i recently ordered an electronic product online from china and was impressed how the order was progressing. i was sent a link to a DHL summary which tracked my shipment. all was going extremely well and i was happy as i ordered the product on wed 9th june and within 2 days, it had been packaged in shenzen, sent to HK and then arrival in sydney on friday 11th june. i thought that was amazing.

But - it got delivered to canberra on monday 14th so for some reason, this package spent the weekend in sydney (i hope it had a good time). so it arrived in canberra on monday 14th, got scanned and sat in the depot until wednesday 16th. i ring dhl on the morning of wed 16th and enquired as to why my package has sat in the canberra depot for 2 days and not delivered to me. dhl told that they outsourced canberra deliveries to a 3rd party and they will get in contact with them and find out what the delay is and ring me back. that was at 10am wed morning.

no call, so i rang dhl back at 4.30 wed. they gave me the number of the 3rd party courier. i rang them. told them the story and they said they'd checkk. so they put me on hold and i lost the connection. i rang back again, got a different person so i told them the story again, they put me on hold again and went off to check. they came back about 3 minutes later and said the package was in their warehouse and will be delivered tomororw (thursday).