Australian Sharemarket

I have limited knowledge about shares. I have some employee bank shares from years ago, a small amount in a managed fund and "had" some ABC learning shares which I seem to have misplaced somewhere:(

I've been looking at the yields of companies in the ASX200 and can't get over how low they are. I read the interview with keithj where he talks about buying blue chip shares with 7%+ yields which lends me to think now is not the time to get into shares as many are below 4%.

So my question for the people that think they know the market, are shares currently overvalued, or should we expect an increase in profits as the GFC winds down - hence increasing dividends or maybe a combination of both:confused:

I have limited knowledge about shares. I have some employee bank shares from years ago, a small amount in a managed fund and "had" some ABC learning shares which I seem to have misplaced somewhere:(

I've been looking at the yields of companies in the ASX200 and can't get over how low they are. I read the interview with keithj where he talks about buying blue chip shares with 7%+ yields which lends me to think now is not the time to get into shares as many are below 4%.

So my question for the people that think they know the market, are shares currently overvalued, or should we expect an increase in profits as the GFC winds down - hence increasing dividends or maybe a combination of both:confused:

Depends on which shares you are lookng at. Different Sectors will always have different yields. Traditionall Resources shares put profits back into the compay where as industrial type shares have a higher yield.

I think your point of 4% is slightly misleading. Lets have a look at say the top 4 shares.

BHP 2.3% fully franked
CBA 4.4% fully franked
NAB 5.3% fully franked
WOW 3.9% fully franked