building defects and buyers agents

hi, newbie here...and not even sure this belongs in this area, so forgive me if it is misplaced.
I hired a buyers agent to help me purchase IP. they found a house, newly built, put in an offer but there was another interested party with a higher offer. the vendor said they would accept my offer with no conditions. my broker says I should be ok for finance and evaluation. so far no dramas there :)
BA says because it's newly built, should be ok. I ask for building inspection anyway against BA advice. turns out lots of building defects. building inspector tells me that cos it's a newly built house, should be covered by builders insurance so shouldn't cost them anything to fix. I have asked the BA to pressure the builders to fix defects and conveyancer says they are not obligated to fix anything :eek:
can anyone suggest what I can do?
thank you in advance

Do you mean that you put in an offer with no 'subject to' clauses because your BA said you would be ok for finance?
I'm thinking you did it subject to a building inspection though.
What type of defects were found?
I wouldn't buy it with defects and I wouldn't be going ahead to finance without a written agreement that the things will be fixed within xx days.
Do not go any further forwards and be prepared to bail on the deal if they aren't going to agree to fix it.

A building with lots of defects, the answer is simple. Tell the BA it's not suitable and ask them to find another property.

It may be under warranty, but I wouldn't want the hassle of chasing up the builder to get the problems fixed.

thanks for your quick response westminster and bear. much appreciated.