Buying in Hong Kong

Has anyone had any experience with property investment and purchases in Hong Kong?

Right now, the exchange rate is very favourable. 1 aussie dollar equals 8.3 Hk dollars. This gives an added protection to investing over there.

Furthermore, the property market seems to be quite volatile with swings of over 20% over half decades. This means that there is much more opportunities for gains (and losses) than australian property investment.

The final sweetener is that there is no capital gains tax in hong kong and foreigners are entitled to own property.

I would be interested to know if anyone has had experience in this area.

While I have no knowledge of the HK market, any capital gains tax is applicable in Australia and not over there.

Has anyone had any experience with property investment and purchases in Hong Kong?

Right now, the exchange rate is very favourable. 1 aussie dollar equals 8.3 Hk dollars. This gives an added protection to investing over there.

Furthermore, the property market seems to be quite volatile with swings of over 20% over half decades. This means that there is much more opportunities for gains (and losses) than australian property investment.

The final sweetener is that there is no capital gains tax in hong kong and foreigners are entitled to own property.

I would be interested to know if anyone has had experience in this area.

hong kong is completely different to australia. You are right in terms of its massive fluctuations and at the moment, I believe hong kong has reached its peak so not a good time to buy - this may and will probably change completely in 6 months time...its that volatile. Other thing to remember is, hong kong government is much more swayed in protecting tenants (much much more so than Australia)....if anything happens to your property during the lease, it will take many months for you to go to court and most likely the verdict will be in favour of the tenant regardless of whats happened.