Buying/Valuing Land

Hi All,

1st post - i am new to property investing but have been investing/speculating in stocks for years. i have reasonable cash savings of around $100k and i'm looking to buy a block and build a first home that can later be rented well (i'd like to work overseas in coming years).

i am after general comments and advise relating to doing self-assessments and valuation on land prior to making offers and beginning negotiations.

i have only been using the price per m2 metric and comparing to nearby listings. i have noticed some land has easements or right of way and they are discounted on a $/m2 basis. is it best to discount the easement and value the block on the unencumbered portion?

do you find that the $/m2 curve is fairly linear across the block size range? i.e. say land is $1k per m2, 200sqm is 200k and 600sqm is 600k - or is there a lower limit where a smaller block will be worth more per metre than larger blocks?

one particular block i saw was a subdivided lot that is currently a parking lot. i'd like to apply some sort of discount to allow for the cost of bringing it back to scratch i.e. removing bitumen and level for build. i assume this would be typical practise?

other issues i have seen are where the high voltage cabinets are located on the lot. however, i have noticed many places seem to build right up to about half a metre from them and allow access so it really does not cut back the space too much.

anyway, looking forward to learning a lot from you guys and any advise for valuing and buying land is much appreciated. i am primarily interested in land as i'd like to build my own place and think i have more chance of adding value by picking up a cheap block and being creative with what i put on it.

cheers!

Vacant land is usually discounted per sqm as the land is bigger, plus with other easements etc that negatively impacts its value.

Look at:

1. Location
2. Zoning
3. Council
4. Measurements of the block