Confusion over how to research market value

Hi All,

I'm a newbie to this forum and to the buying process :eek:

We have been looking at properties in the inner west (sydney) as a PPOR.
We've got our eye on a 2 bedroom house which is up for auction in a few weeks.

We haven't contacted the agent or gone to see the property but I want to get an idea of the market value of this house.

onthehouse.com.au gives the sales price of past sales BUT there is no information about the number of bedrooms etc so I don't know if I'm comparing like with like.

What else should I be looking out for (eg: under flight path?) and how would I access this information. I'm happy to pay for sales reports but want to make sure I know what to look for.

This forum is fantastic but I think I've got a case of information overload:D

Thanks for your input

onthehouse.com.au gives the sales price of past sales BUT there is no information about the number of bedrooms etc so I don't know if I'm comparing like with like.
Yes, what you are looking for is a CMA - Comparative Market Analysis. I see in onthehouse it isn't available yet as it is greyed out and "Coming Soon".:(
So in the meanwhile you'll need to buy a CMA from either Residex, RPData or PDS Live. Or smile nicely at someone with access who will do a freebie for you ;) (If you want to send me a PM, I'll run one up for you :))

One word of advice though. Areas of Sydney, and the Inner West is one of them, are in a rising market. You would have noticed this too I'm sure. You nearly get trampled at the Open for Inspections :eek: The price figures on a CMA are derived by recent sales (and these are often 2 - 3 months out-of-date by the time they are reported). I've noticed actual sales prices achieved are almost always higher than the figure on a CMA by at least 5%.

What else should I be looking out for (eg: under flight path?) and how would I access this information.