Deposit Bond

W

WebBoard

More on property deposits
Date: 22 Oct 2000
Time: 18:29:44

Thanks for the replies. Now for a couple more questions. What is Henry Kaye's theory as far as using minimal or no deposit for his property purchases (Greg H. - 22/10 - thanks for the emphatic response!!!)?

Also to Greg H. (21/10)- what are the deposit power bonds you refer to, and how are they used? Again, to Greg (22/10) - interesting technique - could you tell me also about the deposit bond you propose as the 5% deposit (what it is, how it works, etc), what the "equivalents" to the deposit bonds are that you refer to, and what you mean by "exchange" (in the bit about "within 21 days of exchange"). Wouldn't you still have to use your own money for the 5% deposit eventually?

Thanks - as you can see, I'm a novice at this game - I'm just getting into it.

Last edited by a moderator:
Greg H

Reply: 1

Re: More on property deposits
Date: 22 Oct 2000
Time: 20:12:57

The minimal or no deposit is because you have a built in equity at the time you buy below market

ie. a 300k valued property that you buy at 10% below that price = $270k PURCHASE PRICE. so you have 30k of equity (obviously there are other costs involved but I'm keeping it basic to explain the principle).

When you give a deposit to the real estate, the vendor does not get this money until settlement.The purpose that this is kept with the real estate in their trust account, is that if you default after the cooling off period in the contract (usually 5 working days), the vendor is entitled to this money. A deposit power bond is an insurance company that will 'guarantee' the vendor the deposit money if you default, then come to you to recover the money. They charge a fee for this, which is far cheaper than what it would cost you to hand over the "cash".