Drainage issues in vendors backyard - How much to fix

I inspected a townhouse last weekend and one of the things that I noticed was the amount of water in the backyard. I suspected drainage issues as it was really muddy/swampy looking (see attached link). We've had lots of rain in recent weeks but it shouldn't leave this much water. The RE listing even shows the water in the backyard so I don't think this is an isolated incident.

I mentioned this to the agent who said it's because it's winter. I said this neighbourhood is a very flat area so drainage may not be up to scratch. The agent said that she knows the owner a few houses up from this one had work done to fix the drainage on their property and would find out how much it cost them to fix it.

I got an email today that it cost the other owner $1000. I'm no expert but would that be right as it would need plumber to fix it and I know they are expensive.

See here ... http://www.realestate.com.au/property-townhouse-vic-narre+warren-114476335

Thanks
Sue

I inspected a townhouse last weekend and one of the things that I noticed was the amount of water in the backyard. I suspected drainage issues as it was really muddy/swampy looking (see attached link). We've had lots of rain in recent weeks but it shouldn't leave this much water. The RE listing even shows the water in the backyard so I don't think this is an isolated incident.

I mentioned this to the agent who said it's because it's winter. I said this neighbourhood is a very flat area so drainage may not be up to scratch. The agent said that she knows the owner a few houses up from this one had work done to fix the drainage on their property and would find out how much it cost them to fix it.

I got an email today that it cost the other owner $1000. I'm no expert but would that be right as it would need plumber to fix it and I know they are expensive.

See here ... http://www.realestate.com.au/property-townhouse-vic-narre+warren-114476335

Thanks
Sue