Employer wont give me character reference.

I used to work as a health professional in a sydney hospital, worked there for 11 straight years fulltime, but resigned about 2 years ago cause i was owner builder for my house and wanted to be there as much as possible..

I have now finished my house and want to go back into the workforce.

Ive been accepted for 1-2 jobs, but the hospital i worked at wont give me a reference check, and its totally stuffing up my employment prospects.

I rang up the hospital but they will only give me a statement of service.

I rang up my union and they said the hospital can choose not to give you a reference and the union cant help much in this situation.

Is there anything i can legally do to make the hospital give me a reference?

Anyone come across a similar position?

Do you really want to force someone to give you a reference? You could end up with a terrible one.

Did you leave on bad terms? Did you not get a reference when you left?

You generally cannot force anyone to do something such as that. Was there any contractual agreement that they would provide references when you left?

I worked as a contractor many years ago. They would never give anybody a reference. If they gave somebody a good rap and they didn't turn out well they could be sued. If they gave a bad rap then the employee could sue.

My supervisor at the time told me that while he couldn't volunteer information, if a prospective employer asked if I was the best programmer who ever worked for him he would agree. I never had to take him up on that though.

There may be a former supervisor who may be able to give you a reference.

A hospital would be more aware of potential lawsuits than some other employers.

In my industry it is a given that the bosses won't give a reference. When looking for a new position I always find someone more senior than me or on a similar level to be a referee. Recruiters r fine with this as they understand firm policy in this regard.