First IP in Perth - Need advice!

Stats:

• $300K cash in bank.
  • $120K (excl. super) pre-tax base salary.
  • I don't own a PPOR because I work as an expat, so my employer pays for all my accommodation expenses (not included in the $120K figure). My work takes up quite a bit of my time so I would prefer something quite simple and stress-free to begin with :)
  • I'm not sure if it makes a difference to anything but I am an Aus citizen and have never owned a PPOR. So I'm still eligible for the first homebuyer's grant if I buy a property for less than $500K.

Goal:

To seek CG on land and earn passive income over time.

I'm looking for:

• 1) Older houses on larger blocks of land with the potential for high CG of the land and suburb as a whole (either due to gradual gentrification of area or infrastructure being built nearby); and/or
  • 2) The potential to subdivide, maintain & renovate property on front and build at rear; or
  • 3) The potential to demolish and build triplex villas.

Price:

Seeing this is my first property I am looking for something cheaper (i.e. around the 500K mark or less). Once I get more experience, I will start looking at more expensive developments. I'm happy to pay less for a run-down house and renovate if I can add value.

I am only looking at Perth for the time being, looking at suburbs within 12-15km from the CBD (i have a bias towards suburbs NOR and towards the west having grown up in West Leederville and living in Mt Lawley at the moment).

I am looking into the following areas because I believe they are lagging compared to surrounding suburbs and/or have subdivision potential:
  • Koondoola (i believe they have proposed higher density zoning amendments?)
  • Beechboro (see above)
  • Mirrabooka (no proposed zoning amendments but i think its value may be lagging compared to surrounding suburbs)