First PPOR - Hills District

Hi everyone

New to this forum and I'm currently looking to purchase my first home! My budget is around $700k and I have a few questions on the following areas. I work in the city so proximity to a train line is preferable.

- Thornleigh/Pennant Hills. Which area of these suburbs is more desirable? East or west of Pennant Hills Road? I see some older style timber cottages which fit in my budget.

- West Pennant Hills. I've seen some decent homes behind the Pennant Hills Road/Beecroft Road intersection. Is this area any good?

- Carlingford. My research tells me that anything on the Carlingford Court/Village side is more desirable and it is also closer to Epping station. But with my budget I can probably only afford homes on the North Rocks side. What are your opinions?

- Kingsdene Estate. Does anyone know much about this area within Carlingford? Seems like a nice peaceful area albeit far from the Epping train line.

Appreciate all your opinions.

Cheers.

West Pennant hills is expensive than Pennant Hills which is expensive than Thornleigh. I recent built a house in Thornleigh and love the suburb because lot of retire villages (quiet). However, you have woolies, takeaways, bunnings close by.

If u can afford I would prefer near the station hence West Pennant Hills off for me

I would go for Pennant hills for convenience but for a quiet suburb, Thornleigh is a better option

Steve

Hi and welcome

You will not go wrong with either Pennant Hills or Thornleigh

If you can consider the bus to the city, it also opens up suburbs like Baulkham Hills, Castle Hill and Cherrybrook. The M2 City Express is fast and convenient - both my boys travel to their city uni on the bus.

Drive around, get a feel of the place - you will come to love it here !

Amelia

What specifically are you looking for as this will depend on where you look.

West Pennant Hills and Pennant Hills you will struggle to find anything more than a 3 bedroom place. Thorneligh you can get a decent size / quality 4 bedroom place.

My money would be purchasing something in Castle Hill, Baulkham, Kellyville or Kellyville Ridge. Transport via the Tway on the m4 / m2 has improved singificantly over the past year or so. I live in Kellyville ridge and it takes me 50 minutes on a bus to the city. 5 minutes to Bella Vista, 5 minutes to Rouse Hill Shopping Centre, 10 minutes to Castle Hill. This is however on the basis of purchasing the property as an investment.

Thanks for the reply from everyone.

I would be looking at a 3 bedroom house on a reasonable block (e.g. 600+sqm).

I'm biasing towards Pennant Hills and Thornleigh as oppose to Castle Hill, Kellyville etc. as I prefer to be close to a station.

I guess I just want to get a feel of the desirable/undesirable areas of the suburbs.

Cheers all.

Suburb

Hi Propping

if you are interested in Pennant Hills; i can give you a bit of info. i've lived in Pennant Hills close to 9 years now...

Pennant Hills is a small suburb and not many houses come up for sale. I notice many younger couples are moving back to the suburb after having lived near the city. the main advantage i think is the train line which is only about 7 stations to Chatswood. Plus the huge price differential between Pennant Hills and the next suburb Beecroft/Cheltenham...

the shops(including Franklins). cafes,station, library, specialist clinics, dentists, doctors, churches are on the western side of the railway and houses on this side are more desirable (oh plus the primary schools and high school). i nearly bought in Thornleigh myself many years ago but i find Pennant hills has more of the small village atmosphere and it has everything
i need.

Take a drive along Trebor st, thorn st, rosemount ave and there are some lovely older homes on big blocks all wthin walking distance to the station.

There are some rumblings of multi story development around the station and the residents are trying to oppose it. But i think this augurs well for the suburb.

Alls good here and good luck on your house hunting.

You might also want to consider places along the Carlingford line. Maybe worthwhile if the stupid NSW government finally get around to extending the Chatswood - Epping line through to Carlingford and then to Parramatta.

Right now the Carlingford line sucks, peak trains are every half hour and off peak is every hour.

Houses on that line are relatively cheap (when comparing to West Pennant Hills) at around the $500k-$600k mark

Hi everyone

New to this forum and I'm currently looking to purchase my first home! My budget is around $700k and I have a few questions on the following areas. I work in the city so proximity to a train line is preferable.

- Thornleigh/Pennant Hills. Which area of these suburbs is more desirable? East or west of Pennant Hills Road? I see some older style timber cottages which fit in my budget.

If you want to stick to rail your budget is affordable but expect to renovate, compromise on position or land size here. $700K will buy you a pretty ordinary house in these suburbs near the station, with Thornleigh reaping more choice. Look at areas west of the station like Duffy Ave area and near the industrial side (closer to Normanhurst) for the occasional good buy. Do be aware, however, that the majority of those timber homes close to the station (on the west side Station St etc) are on smaller blocks around the 440sqm mark.

West Pennant Hills. I've seen some decent homes behind the Pennant Hills Road/Beecroft Road intersection. Is this area any good?

This area (known to locals as Thompsons Corner) and the houses in between New Line and Boundary Rds can seem reasonably priced, but some of them are next to high tension power lines and stauncheons. Failing that, some also have termite/damp issues (go for a drive and you'll soon see why) For buyers who aren't familiar with areas these are usually the reasons why houses in "quiet" streets seem cheap! However, houses in this triangle may well suit but are not within easy walking distance of either station. They don't call it the Hills District for nothing- what might appear close on a map can actually be a killer in hills!!

Carlingford. My research tells me that anything on the Carlingford Court/Village side is more desirable and it is also closer to Epping station. But with my budget I can probably only afford homes on the North Rocks side. What are your opinions?

North Rocks is nowhere near rail. Carlo is, however I'd advise taking a drive through the area first and seeing if your budget will stretch here. There are desirable and "not so desirable" sections of this suburb (I grew up here and know it intimately still) which includes Kingsdene. Parts of Kingsdene, incidentally, used to be walking distance to the station (via Carlingford West Public School) but I'm not sure if you can go this way anymore. Might be an idea to check it out for yourself. The closer you get to Epping station, obviously the higher the prices. There is no way you could walk to Epping every day from the Carlingford side up to Pennant Pde. It's simply too far.

Kingsdene Estate. Does anyone know much about this area within Carlingford? Seems like a nice peaceful area albeit far from the Epping train line.

Appreciate all your opinions.

Cheers.[/QUOTE]

Really, for your money, and depending on criteria (and how fussy you are!) my money would be spent on a house in the Pennant Hills/Thornleigh/Hornsby area. You may be lucky enough to pick up something in Normanhurst as well, if you do your homework and the hard yards. It's an area that I think has great potential. Best of luck in your search.

Houses on that line are relatively cheap (when comparing to West Pennant Hills) at around the $500k-$600k mark

$600K will only buy you something on a main rd (think P/Hills, Marsden, North Rocks, Carlingford Rds etc) that requires renovation. Even then, there's limited choice. If keen on Carlingford but wanting to be close to rail, I'd suggest steering closer to Dundas and Telopea for better value. They are slowly losing their historical "bad area" tags.

House in the Hills

Hiya Propping

If you are keep on the Pennant Hills/Thornleigh area; have you considered this little relatively unknown small suburb called Westleigh? If you look at the map, you will notice there are some parts of this suburb which you can walk to the station. I have a good friend who could not afford Pennant Hills and ended up buying in Westleigh and loves it there...take a drive around Ruddock Park and you will see why...also, houses are newer than Thornleigh andit's a great place to bring up a young family, with a primary school and a small shopping centre.

hope this helps

$600K will only buy you something on a main rd (think P/Hills, Marsden, North Rocks, Carlingford Rds etc) that requires renovation. Even then, there's limited choice. If keen on Carlingford but wanting to be close to rail, I'd suggest steering closer to Dundas and Telopea for better value. They are slowly losing their historical "bad area" tags.

Actually i was referring to Dundas, Telopea, Rydalmere, Ermington those places are slowly changing :)

For Rydalmere and Ermington, there is also one of those metrobuses that take you all the way to the city.... though they do take about an hour.

Rydalmere

Hiya

Be careful about Rydalmere; my friend who lives in a neighbouring suburb says there are a lot of licencsed brothels in that suburb (unless of course, you are into that sort of stuff!:p)

IMHO, Ermington has a lot going for it; the housing commission stigma is slowing but slowing changing; so near to Eastwood where houses are so much more exxy; used to live in Carlingford and hated it; can't seem to avoid Pennant Hills road at all for shopping...its such a spread out suburb with lots of power lines all over; the Chinese are buying there for one and only one reason only: James Ruse High School...

I reckon its all those massive overhead power lines that make those kids smart at James Ruse :p

I don't know about that :D but it's certainly a hotspot of the suburb with rentals in this areq quite popular. However, being a selective school address doesn't really come into it.

Am with you on Dundas, Ermington etc but again there are pockets that I would avoid. I'm not a fan of buying too close to industrial areas either and buyers do need to check streets out quite carefully before making decisions to purchase.

Thanks for all the opinions everyone.

Just on Thornleigh and Pennant Hills, would the general advise be to stay clear of properties on the east side of Pennant Hills Road?

I will take a drive around Thornleigh and Pennant Hills this weekend to check out the streets in more detail. Might even drive around to Dundas Valley to see what it's like there (looks like a 10 mins drive to Eastwood station from here?).

What about Normanhurst? Houses I see for sale in this area appear to be at a slight premium compared to Thornleigh and Pennant Hills. I've had a brief drive around and it seems like Normanhurst is a lot quieter (less shops, smaller station etc.). Hornsby also looks to be a bit more expensive than Thornleigh and Pennant Hills.

I guess with my budget I can't be too fussy with the quality of the property. I do want something on a good block of land though (may need to compromise on size).

Cheers all.

Ppor

Hi Propping

The train stations (Pennant Hills, Thornleigh, Normanhurst) are all on the west side ; it may sometimes be difficult to cross over busy Pennant Hills Road; apart from that, it makes no difference (IMHO)...

Some parts of Normanhurst are at a premium; my friend lives on Russell Ave with a Wahroonga address but technically is nearer to Normanhurst as she is on this side of the highway...(i know, to some people, this small difference is very very important; go figure!)

All the best, and do let me know your impression next week;

Thanks for all the opinions everyone.

Pleasure- that's why we're here- to all share!

Just on Thornleigh and Pennant Hills, would the general advise be to stay clear of properties on the east side of Pennant Hills Road?

Makes no difference at all really- it's not like the north shore where "east side rail" gets you an extra $100K :D

I guess with my budget I can't be too fussy with the quality of the property. I do want something on a good block of land though (may need to compromise on size).

Cheers all.

Spot on. You will need to compromise and once you start looking and doing all the legwork yourself will soon discover this. Best of luck.

propping

i am a new member but have been reading here a lot since deciding i want to probably market my Pennant Hills house and buy something that is internally subdivisible or that has enough land so that i can put a granny flat on. i am busy reading the granny flat section here LOL
i am currently on a subdivided block in a 3 BR place, .7km to the station/shops/library, 10 years old. it has been about perfect.
heaps of schools, child care, library and churches. pretty multicultural.
all basic every day needs are catered for at the shops at the station and my son is at the station in a short time by foot

i have lived here for 10 years and for 20 odd in a very leafy, distant and pleasant part of Thornleigh

in my looking to rebuy in the same area......ie westleigh, normanhurst, thornleigh and pennant hills there are obvious differences.
pennant hills is older and generally that bit more expensive. to my mind it is well worth the bit of extra money. getting out of say westleigh or parts of thornleigh and normanhurst is by car only in some cases. the bus services are minimal and if you have a long commute already (as my son does) then the added time on this end each way is a huge negative IMO.

the homes in each suburb are very varied.... but in general there are few older houses in westleigh and it is a pleasant family place for those family years.
myself.........i could never ever live there or in the more bushy parts of thornleigh again.
i much prefer my subdivide with some minimal traffic noise where it feels like there is actual life around me rather than the quiet of some of the areas;)

i didnt realise how wedded to this area i was til i looked in Norman ave (check it out) Thornleigh and again saw nothing but gum trees for my view.
i crept out knowing that this was not what i personally wanted anymore :eek:

as you have noted there are older homes near the station at pennant hills east side and some on the west side .
ditto at thornleigh

there is enormous diversity in the area. it is all very "family" and it is pretty peaceful. either side of pennant hills road is fine .......just see if there is a bus if you need it and see how often it might run to a station.

down by Thompsons corner is a place i had never considered til recently.
i have sort of looked but have crossed it off. the bus to the city is good apparently, for me cherrybrook and west pennant hills are just that bit too far out but obviously a lot of people live there happily in places much nicer than mine

pennant hills road is a disaster. it only matters in peak hours which seem to finish at around 9.30 and restart at 2.30pm. it doubles the time to anywhere.
saturday it is near parking lot at some hours

normanhurst is very much a dormitory suburb....as is thornleigh and westleigh.
pennant hills with the larger shopping centre is more *alive* but it depends on how you compare it LOL

$700 will buy you property. wont give a lot of choice but there are houses out there right now as i am looking at some of them if i think they might be subdivisable or allow for a granny flat.
it seems that most blocks are already divided up.:(
my originally huge block is divided into 3 and i still have as much land as i personally wanted. now things have changed and i want something different but i do not wish to leave the area and more particularly Pennant Hills.
i am sure if you check out *domain* you will find a few places to see on the weekend. there is a cute place in Eddy Ave thornleigh on small land that is in your price range.
and others.
range into parts of Waitara and dont dismiss Hornsby. both those suburbs have had some decent places........just not what i am after.
around here ......train access matters hugely IMO.
i was a long way from the station and schools in my previous lovely house and i realise now how much time was spent in the drop off and pick up of kid and husband and my own getting to work. parking at all the stations is saturated now and i think all of them have am approx .6 km walk from street parking to stations.

i am sure you will find something and i wish you well.
i can always sell you mine if all else fails LOL
get onto the domain site and realestate.com.au and u will find something if you are not after a larger block
Adamson ave, thornleigh has a house just new to the market. bit noisy tho as it is close to a very busy street.
there are two places like mine.....subdivided blocks with pretend federation houses on them for sale right now.
one in Redgrave st and one in ...........ummmmm i cant remember but walk to station anyway.
both are asking $750 so it will be interesting to see how they sell.

do drive around the area a good bit. there is a lot of it and it is diverse.