handyman in darwin

Hi Darwinese
can somebody recommend a handyman in bakewell area please. I need to repair the garden shed for my IP, the property manager gave me a quote for $1400 to repair. It costs me only $450 to replace a new shed in Sydney plus installation. Is it that expensive in Darwin
thanks guys. Much appreciated
MJD

All I can suggest is checking the Yellow Pages.

I don't know if $1400 is on the money without knowing what's being done, but my 2.4 x 2.4m shed cost me $4000 for supply and install in 2005 so yep its pretty rough up here. I wanted to build a 6x8m shed with plumbing and an electrical run on a rural block here, bare concrete floor no cupboards, plastering or insulation and couldn't go ahead with $80k being the cheapest quote.

I'll do it much cheaper than that..

I can pick up the old one and install the new, let me know,
Cheers! :)

Hi Want to be wealthy

Are you a handyman? I've just spent the past few weeks, doing basic reno's with a 1year old wrapped around my legs and 2 bigger kids fighting out in the yard. :eek: The quotes I got were ridiculous so thought I'd tackle it?

Hi MJD,

I have a property in Gunn. Handyman quoted $2950 incl gst (the cheaper of 2 quotes) to repair a water leak from outside to inside house. I know people in Sydney that will do this for $1500 including materials. Could have paid for a return airfare and a short holiday for a Sydney tradie to fly in Darwin and still been ahead.

Quote:-

"Water damage

All water damage in both rooms is coming from one leak in sliding door in dining room. There is no grouting behind the skirting boards and water is coming through the dining room sliding door and travelling beneath the skirting to bedroom two

-Remove sliding door in dining room
-re-fit sliding door and reseal in dining room
-remove two lengths of skirting in dining room
-fit new skirting in dining room and paint and make good and seal behind skirting

Bedroom 2
Remove all water damaged skirting and replace with new and seal behind skirting
Remove all water damaged parts of cupboard and replace with new
Paint all new parts and make good."

When I queried the guy's quote he asked the managing agent to provide evidence that they held the $ upfront in their trust account before he would commence work.

Same with airconditioner repairs-sometimes cheaper to buy and install a new unit.

Ajax

Not that I can help you at the moment, but my daughter had a quote to replace her roof (low set) Anula (spelling) $20500.00. I went up with my mate also a builder and we did it for $7000.00. Of course this did not include wages or air fares but still would have been heaps cheaper. I should say that was the cheapest quote my daughter got.

So my mate and I will be do roof jobs in Darwin of course other work if need be.

I will be up in Darwin by the end Oct till end Nov visiting Daughters so if anyone wants to meet up be great. I will also be looking at some places while there, Just PM me.

To your question the price sound over the top, I know a person that maybe able to help if you still need just PM me and I can ask.

Brian

thanks W2W
that sounds great. yeah if it's in sydney ,my hubby can easily do it. I will contact my PM and let you know ,
thanks

Uhhh, Sydney ? whats that got to do with it? it dont make sense love:confused:

Now while we have W2bW on line how is that Darwin market fairing? looks like it may have come off the boil.
I would apreciate your opinion Sir.

I'd say off the boil would be an understatement.. I would expect a Perth style reversion back to a sensible level of pricing over the coming year. It's taking a while to feed through, but asking prices are dropping significantly (I have seen some places in the $900k range dropping asking prices by $180k and still not selling). Anecdotally some agents are describing not having sold a house in months.

Again anecdotally, I see asking prices are generally about 10%-20% (more like 10% on lower priced property, 20% on higher priced property) weaker than at their peak, inventory is piling up and nothing is moving.

Thanks for that lad.
I could see the stock mounting and prices reducing on RE.com
Whats your general thoughts on business/economy around Darwin at the mo?

Some of the high end properties have dropped off but recently knocked back and offer 20% higher than the last one in January for one of mine. Rents seem to have stablized a bit but when the next project gets announced in the near future things should start moving again.

Tradies in Darwin demand a high price for the simplest of things. A few times I have flown from Japan to Darwin and done the work myself for less than 50% of the quotes and once nearly 80% and that includes the airfare.

I wonder if the build up and the wet season will also cause the market to slow even further.

Still I will be looking when I'm there is a couple of weeks.

Brian

Yes, the market has significantly slowed up here. I work in residential leasing and that is definitely back to the traditional wet season slow down.

As for repair work - I don't know what it's like in the other states but yes, everything is horribly expensive up here. I've just had a couple of relatively simple jobs done and the prices are insane! Sometimes, I wish I had the time to just go and do them myself!

Jody

Y33,

I have found a couple of places but they are asking way to much but still looking when I get the chance. I'm really here to see my kids and grandkids.

Jody In Darwin, I can only say I wish I had left my tools in the ute as I drove up this time, I have been asked to do so many jobs its not funny.

I have now applied for my builders license for NT, which will add to my Builders License in Qld :) So if all goes to plan I will to do some works in the NT in the near future.

Brian

Hi Jody,
I am currently looking at buying a property in Wagait Beach as a future PPOR,( 2-5 years time). Is there a rental market for property over that side of the harbour for permanent residents, on 12 month leases?
We are currently in Melb, having previously lived in Darwin for 3 years in early 90ies.

PP

PS: I am a handyman specializing is presenting properties for sale and lease
www.cpr.net.au

Hi Jody,
I am currently looking at buying a property in Wagait Beach as a future PPOR,( 2-5 years time). Is there a rental market for property over that side of the harbour for permanent residents, on 12 month leases?
We are currently in Melb, having previously lived in Darwin for 3 years in early 90ies.

PP

PS: I am a handyman specializing is presenting properties for sale and lease
www.cpr.net.au

Hi PurplePatch,

I'm sorry to say but I don't have a clue when it comes to the rural market (including Wagait Beach) - my specialty is Darwin/Palmerston.

There are a few agents that specialise in rural but I can't say I've ever spoken to anyone with a glowing reference about any of them. Sorry about that.

If I get a bit of time during the week, I'll take a look at what has rented over there and if I find anything I think may be useful to you I'll PM you.

Kind regards,
Jody