House Insurance in QLD

G'day folks,

Can I have a bit of an idea on what insurance company people use both for "Building" and also for "Landlord"?

I'm in the process of renewing several Building insurance policies so was curious as to people's choices ..... I'm currently with AAMI but I think their premiums are starting to creep up. Just over $400 for a standard 3br/1ba brick lowset house in QLD. How does this compare with other premiums people have?

Also, with Landlord Insurance - I have been using Terri Scheer for a few years, and fortunately/unfortunately have only had to make 1 claim so far. Unfortunately for me the property was vacant for 13 weeks and the maximum they pay out is 6 weeks rent.

I contacted AAMI, and they DO NOT even cover an absconding tenant at all with their Landlord Protection policy, so I'd be real careful using AAMI.

Andrew.

G'day folks,

I contacted AAMI, and they DO NOT even cover an absconding tenant at all with their Landlord Protection policy, so I'd be real careful using AAMI.

Andrew.

Hi Andrew

AAMI Landlord insurance with Tenant Protection does cover loss of rent from week 4-13. I just changed from RACQ which doesn't offer any landlord protection but my main worry was that they don't cover intentional damage by tenant either. AAMI has that in their policy. AAMI was almost $200 cheaper than CGU and way cheaper than Scheer so I went for them but I just changed last months so no experience with them really.

Cheers

kaf

Hi Andrew

AAMI Landlord insurance with Tenant Protection does cover loss of rent from week 4-13. I just changed from RACQ which doesn't offer any landlord protection but my main worry was that they don't cover intentional damage by tenant either. AAMI has that in their policy. AAMI was almost $200 cheaper than CGU and way cheaper than Scheer so I went for them but I just changed last months so no experience with them really.

Kaf,