How do I write an offer subject to finance?

I'm going to look at properties next week. I've never written an offer before, my other 2 were verbal. I want to put subject to finance in it. I've spoken to a broker and it looks good but if I can't get finance for some reason, does the "subject to finance" part cover me so I'm not committed if I can't get finance?

Sorry this question is a bit basic.

I had a bit of a search for how to write an offer on here before posting. Will the agent have a form I can fill in and I write subject to finance on it?

Hi Jenny when you write the contract with the agent you ask the agent to add the clause subject to finance they usually give you approx 14 days. Feel free to contact me if you would like further assistance

Make sure the finance clause nominates your LENDER, TERM and RATE.. and make sure you nominate a lender with the strictest criteria.. there's nothing binding you to any lender once the contract is signed of course..

But dont be put in the position of having to shop around for finance to all and sundry just because the finance clause is vague and open about the finance.

Dont be afraid to pen it into the contract, if the "Form" the agent is using doesnt allow for the nomination of a lender then scribble the details of the lender, term and rate in somewhere..

Hi Jenny,

I generally word the clause, "Subject to finance approval withing 12 working days for $180,000 through CBA".

The time frame, amount, and lending institution are important. Consult your broker to specify a lending institution where you wouldn't be able to get finance, but they have good rates, as this gives you a way out of the contract if you want it.

I've had clauses saying 'subject to finance satisfactory to the purchaser' without specifying amounts or financial institutions.
Alex

Will the agent have a form I can fill in and I write subject to finance on it?

Hello Jennyn