how much to offer...

hi, I am new to the country and am trying to buy.

Now please don't flame me for asking but...

On meeting a mortgage advisor, he volunteered the following information;

"property is selling at between 15% and 20% below the advertised price, so go in with a -20% offer and move up as necessary"

I suggested that this was the case to a real estate agent yesterday and he visibly lost his lunch, scoffing at those figures.

Now, I am not new to buying houses, but this is a new market to me, these are recessive times in the market and the real estate agent has vested interest in convincing me that what I have been told is way off.

what's the truth?

I am in brisbane suburbs bTW, thanks in advance for any feedback.

Foz.

I don't know. Once the property is under offer it is confidential as to the agreed sale price. The property sold searches bring up figures that are out of date.

Hi Foz

I don't know about Brisbane (different market) but 20% under asking would be rejected outright by the majority of vendors here in the Sydney market; times may be tough but only a small minority of desperate sellers would consider selling for 20% less if they had a realistically listed property on the market in the first place. Consistently offering lowball amounts won't get you very far with agents either- they'll know what you're going to offer before you inspect the 4th, 5th, 6th property and won't even bother showing you properties after a while, and you'll soon be known as a tyre-kicker.

This isn't to say you shouldn't give it a shot, but know your market first so that you can spot a good buy rather than just accept that 20% off the asking price is a "bargain" (and which asking price? The price it was first listed at 3/6/8 weeks previously? The price it's been dropped to for quick offloading? The inflated price the ambitious vendors have asked the agent to list it for?) - because, as the saying goes, "it ain't necessarily so!"