Idea to convert an arched passageway to a door

Hi guys

I have got arched passageway that I want to fit a door on so I am just wondering if anyone had experience doing this or it's best left to the tradie? What trade do I need btw a handyman?
Thx in advance

We changed our arch to a rectangle opening, so it was more modern.
I dont think it would have worked to put a door in, and the whole idea was to open up the house more.
we had builders do it.. we are not handy at all. I would think to get straight edges, you would need to have experience with gyprocking.

gday, been sticky beaking around here for a while now looking for info because im only 22 and just about rounded up enough money for a depost on a first home. Trying to be smart about it at the same time so im looking around to see what other people have done and soaking up all the info i can get.

by trade i'm a plasterer and thought i should share my professional advice seeing so far the bucket load of info this forum has given me.
too answer your question yvonne yes you do need a tradie. A carpenter should be able to do this without any plaster work needed.
In saying this the job at hand is very diy-able if your confident enough.

cheers,
ben.

OH ! and I accept your apology for comparing us to a handy man :)

by trade i'm a plasterer and thought i should share my professional advice seeing so far the bucket load of info this forum has given me.
too answer your question yvonne yes you do need a tradie. A carpenter should be able to do this without any plaster work needed.
:)

as i said above, I am not a DIYer at all, but I dont see how you could do this without any plaster work.

all the arches I've ever seen were gyprocked..how do you cut and change that etc without having someone repair/ change the gyprock?

we have done the removal of arch in my sister's house. I am not an expert diyer, but old man covers up for my lack of ability.

Depends on your confidence in terms of work.

Hi YvonneVincent,