Is a renovation profitable?

Hey guys! I’m new to this forum so I’m sorry if I’m asking silly questions.

I’m a qualified carpenter and the age of 22 I’m saving for my first home and to get into developing..
I’ve been doing a lot of research about developing preparing myself for the first step.
The only thing that concerns me is that I sore a house in Doveton which is in Melbourne and last year it sold for 260,000 and was very run down I sore it a week ago for 290,000 and they has done a beautiful renovation on this house but would of cost at least 30,000 on materials.

My question is are there ways to make profit doing this?

I’m keen to do all the work myself i have been lucky to have been shown many other trade skills so hopefully it will help.

I have heard of people doing this for a living and that’s what I’m hoping to do in the future.
Just the numbers don’t seem to add up should i be looking at doing this in more expensive areas where should I start?

Thanks for your time guys Dean

Hi Dean, welcome.

I don't know where Doveton is, but at under $300K, it would be in low socio-economic suburb. The target market there can only afford to pay a certain amount for a property, this is where the numbers have to stack up.

Was the house you refer to sold for $260K or advertised at that price? If the buyer got it for significantly less, than he/she can make money. Perhaps they are a FHB and didn't have to pay stamp duty or pay lower SD? There are ways to save on purchase price in those regards.

In the more upmarket suburbs, you will have higher purchase prices and thus holding costs (Interest on your loan) but you will also have purchasers who can pay premium prices for nicer homes.