Is Financier's Development Deed common?

Hi,
I am a small property developer & have a situation & I would appreciate your thoughts. We are doing a multi-residential dwelling in a prime location in Brisbane. We are very excited as everything (almost!!!) is ready to go. DA, BA, building contract, buyers who bought all the units off the plan,... Last Friday, we signed the mortgage documents & the architect was required to sign a document called 'Grant of Licence in Plans', & his signature had to be witnessed by a JP. He didn't want to spend time on this, wanted to charge me a fee, I found a JP just 2 min away from his house, we met at JP's place, the document was signed, witnessed & that was great. It meant to be my day off, hey no complaints, managed to get things done. This was the good part of the story.
Here is the painful part of the journey, the builder was also required to sign a document ' Financier's Development Deed' which determines the responsibilities of the builder & what would happen if the builder is at default. Now my builder sought legal advice & is not signing the document. To him, it is too restrictive;why he should be signing this, or that the financier has no right to make him enter in to such agreement. Without this document, the settlement does not proceed. I suggested that his solicitor speak with the financiers solicitors and sort things out. Anyone has any solution to this problem?
Regards,
Cirrus

Me again

Hey guys, I sent a post before re 'Financier's Development Deed', & I am still awaiting some feedback. Some sympathy will do!!! Actually, I found another term for this kind of agreement. Tri-party agreement, genius, aren't I?!!!!. I still don't seem to be able to convince my builder to enter into such agreement, he is blowing up the development project. What should I do?
Cheers, Sirous