Melbourne Suburbs

Hi,

My partner and myself have spent a lot of time investigating area's in Melbourne that still have potential. Based on our research we recently purchased in Fawkner.

Fawkner is still affordable, is within the 12 km radius from the CBD and is ripe for growth. I have heard that Pascoe Vale and the surrounding suburbs also hold some potential.

As I am fairly new to Property Investing, like you, I would be interested in feedback from others more in the know!

Regards

Lesley :confused:

For Melbourne it is the catch up suburbs turn. Again my forte has been the western suburbs. A recent newspaper article indicated the best growth suburbs over the last few months in percentage terms. 6 out of the 10 were Western suburbs with Altona on top with a 50% increase (I think, from memory).
What has happened is that the rest of Melbourne had being increasing and a number of Western suburbs have been sleeping. Well now it is their turn as the West loses their stigma of working class and is still affordable housing.

I have seen massive prices increasing in Williamstown, Newport, Yarraville, Footscray and now it is the secondary suburbs turn out west.
My choice of growth ( and income return of 5-7%))suburbs over the next couple of years are-

Sunshine and Ardeer- right on the Western Ring Road
Altona- a seaside suburb that is slowly shaking off it's Western suburb and smelly petrol refinerary tag.
Hey a seaside house for $200-250k. It's own local shopping centre and close to Melbourne, 20 minutues by freeway.

Altona North- ditto

Altona Meadows- some bargains at $200-240k returning 5.5%-6% rental return. And finally running out of vacant land. right next to the upgraded Geelong Freeway.

Hey and just a little bit further out Hoppers Crossing and Werribee. Not as high captial growth but rental returns of 6-8% available. If capital growth is going to be hard to come by at least there is income.