Method of assessing

Hi all

Was talking to a young couple the other day and they were telling me they bought a property for $255000 a while ago just before the govt were about to make changes to the FHOG.

It was Bank valued recently at $210000 and the market seems to indicate that with a motivated buyer they may get $220000.

Obviously they are dissappointed.

When i asked them how they come to the decision to buy the reasons were given were:
  • Sick of looking
  • Felt rushed not to lose the FHOG
  • Alot of interest so they signed up on the day
  • only seen the property once
  • No due dillegence done

Basically they rushed into buying.

Whilst i have some experience probably research and assessing whether a property is a bargain or great price is not my forte.

What insights could one give to a young couple venturing into the property market.
Where should they by looking to get a feel for the values of the areas they are looking in.

I guess a template or checklist to assess the property is not overpriced etc.

Regards
SG

If it's a PPOR and they plan to stay there for a few years: not really a problem.

If they went into the purchase thinking they were going to make a motza in a couple of years: lols.

When I bought a ip 18 months ago, prior to this I researched the area thoroughly for a year until I knew 110% that I knew what to purchase and what was a steal , when i did find something finally to purchase I went in 20% under and got it

18 months on I got a valuation 10k less than what I paid for it, although I don't care as I'm long term and have a great yield it was still disappointing as I was so sure I had knabbed a bargain ,

I guess that's life, but I'm still buying and growing so that's the main thing

This is quite common with the FHOG.

A friend bought her place just before it went up. She was a bit upset at not getting the extra money but when I showed her how prices had jumped in the few months since it was introduced she felt better.