Negative gearing - WHY???

Ok, so I am new to the world of property, having only just bought my first PPOR five months ago. But I have been doing my research, and am begining to understand some of the basic principles. My hubby and I are literally 'mum and dad investors'. Although don't let the title fool you - we both hold commerce degrees and I also have a law degree, so we also have some formal education to back us up. ;)

Now I understand all of the tax benefits of Negative gearing. But my question is it really all that everyone makes it out to be?? So far EVERYONE I have come across has gone on and on about the benefits of negative gearing, and how a good strategy with property investment is to use the equity in one property to finance another (or variations of this). Now I can certainly see some benefits.

BUT surely, if you are not looking to get rich quick, but rather a stable longterm investment for your kids education and your own retirement (doubly important to me being a SAHM with little or no super contributions thus far), then would it not be better to pay off your properties, so that after maintainance, REA, tax, etc, all rental income goes dierectly into your own pocket.

Yes you are missing out on some tax benefit (quite substantial ones sometimes), but if there is no debt then the income is 'profit'. So looking at it this way, would it not be better, more stable and secure to own say 3 IP's outright, then own 5 heavily mortgaged?

Like I said I am new at this, so maybe I have missed something important???

negative gearing is old school with these interest rates...

negative gearing is sold by sharks who only have that tool to use to flick an investment that has no other atributes....

i do not like negative gearing....