New to the forum - my story so far

Hi all, just thought I'd introduce myself.

My name is Steve, I live in Northgate in Adelaide. I read Jan Somers book "More Wealth from Residential Property" about 1yr ago, and can honestly say it's the best book I have ever read. I had already been interested in property and read some other books as well as magazines, but can honestly say it's the best advice available, especially for total beginners.

Since reading it I have also bought a copy for my 2 of my friends who have their own home but are scared of making the first move, and my brother and sister in law who are finally deciding to look into an investment property but have'nt bought yet. So I figured better for them to read the book before they make a mistake.

I bought my first property back in 2002 in Northgate SA. At the time this house was just over 1yr old. I rented this out for a year before moving in myself. I then leveraged off the equity in this property to buy my second house in Davoren Park SA.

The house in Davoren Park was also just 1yr old, built in a small new subdivision and cost $198,000. This house had 3br, 1bth, and double garage under main roof. This one I rented out for $200pw initially, and last year raised it to $210pw (despite probably being able to get $215-$220pw). I have very good tenants in this property who keep the place well maintained. After 6 months I added a veranda at the back which the tennants also appreciated.

Then, in August 2006 I again leveraged off the capital appreciation in my first 2 properties to puchase a 3rd property in Smithfield Plains, Adelaide. At the time of purchase the house was brand new and not yet lived in. I paid $193,000 for this property which had 3br, 1bth, double enclosed carport under main roof. This house I have rented out for $220pw. I have done nothing to this house, although I may add a veranda to this one as well.