On Socialising

Day to day socialising, how do you feel?

• I hate socialising! I'm happy with my own life and find others get in the way of a good time.

Votes: 9 9.8%
  • I socialise occasionally, but not alot. I have my moments

Votes: 59 64.1%
  • I love a good chat.

Votes: 13 14.1%
  • Im a social 'butterfly' (sorry for the puntsy term)..

Votes: 11 12.0%

• Poll closed .
Really interesting thread ..no wonder I find myself being drawn to SS more and more. Think someone not long ago said "it was an obsession" and I
should confess it's the same for me.

I like people ...have lots of friends / acquaintances - people we get together with from work, church, school friends, old friends from 20 years. I used to be the Avon lady in the area for 5 years. The kids don't get it and often say "Gosh, how / why do you know and remember and connect with so many people ? "

Hubby, out of choice, would prefer to potter around the garden and tidy the garage but give me a big, noisy party any day !! Like Piston Broke, can't stand drunks !

But I really enjoy chatting up /getting together with people who can talk property and investments, including my mortgage broker.

Jo - since we're in the same neck of the woods, we might have a little chat one of these days - hopefully, will not be a waste of time !

Amelia

However, what does "out to pasture" mean?

They get married, have a few kids, the waistline spreads and the effort to look good is gone.

Tracky dacks and big sweaters etc.

Often it's the husbands too.

No pride of appearance, or it's too hard - I don't know why, but far too common.

I'm laughing my head off at this one.

Both my wife and I are lucky enough to be able to drop off and/or pick up our son from school each day.

Of course, when we get there, the majority of parents are the mums who are stay-at-home mums. very few worker types around of course.

They all know each other, and congregate in little groups waiting for the bell.

Both my wife and I have absolutely no interest in getting to know these people. We have tried in the past - both here and in the USA, and the same pattern emerges.

Talk only about recipes and their kids, and the latest doodad they bought on ebay for a steal..

We all love our kids, but I know enough not to bore everyone else with his activities.

These chicks are always oblivious to that and just prattle on like a pack of hens.

And here's a question; why are these chicks invariably "out to pasture"?

So, SO, True and wait untill they tell you how busy they are, i can't work em out either.

SS would seem to be a small subset of property investors.

I'd go one further Rob and say that not only are the SS contributing forum members a very small subset of property investors, but they are generally speaking on the smaller scale of things.

I went to a property function on Tuesday morning here in Perth with over 90 guests - all property investors / developers aged between probably 55 and 75, and all could have bought me out many times over.

I would have confidently bet that very few of those 90 investors even knew how to use a computer, let alone surf the net and contribute to SS.

Due to confidentiality of their private affairs, I think they would be horrified that people actually discuss their financials with strangers - let alone on the internet.

I'm always up for a chat. I'll talk to anyone about anything. I talk to the mums at school often, but it's an inner west leftie suburb and most of them are pretty interesting. I don't go out much, but there are always people at our house. I play tennis on Saturday afternoons in a local competition (I'm in the bottom grade) and the best part about the afternoon is the chats. And they're never about property.

I would have confidently bet that very few of those 90 investors even knew how to use a computer, let alone surf the net and contribute to SS.
Very few? Out of ...90?
I know you are prone to extrapolate and exaggerate Dazz, and put a high degree of importance on the circle you seem to mix with, but come on now.

Due to confidentiality of their private affairs, I think they would be horrified that people actually discuss their financials with strangers - let alone on the internet.
Dazz, this continual subliminal theme of the big comm investors are in a different lofty world than us sorry-@rsed small time resi boys is getting rather tiresome.

Why do you even bother to hang around here any more? We are not worthy.

Yes, I guess it's a much more serious and private game when you make that quantum leap to comm and add several zeros to your bottom line.

Can't talk to no plebs with no zeros. Get over yourself, please.

I'd go one further Rob and say that not only are the SS contributing forum members a very small subset of property investors, but they are generally speaking on the smaller scale of things.

Based on my observations and having met some big hitters in the property world here in Adelaide, I agree that many of them, including some of the more successful (in raw dollar terms) have never even heard of Somersoft.
I enjoy the interaction and support I get here and the opportunity to help or inspire others, so it has it's place in the scheme of things.
We all have fun and that's what it's all about.

Agreed.

Again, what you do with your time is your business, and wheather its 'fun' or not, is a matter of opinion.

No matter how big you become in any field, there are still others that are bigger than you.

But being big isn't what most here are about by any means, it doesn't matter what your net worth is, I suspect we're all here because we enjoy it, I know I am anyway.

Anyhow, I think were getting a little off topic.

I voted 'others get in the way of my idea of a good time' so bugger yez! stop cramping my style, I was having fun for a minute before I logged on :p

Maybe they should move with the times :D. I reckon they'd be a right lot of boring old farts :p.

Yes, I guess it's a much more serious and private game when you make that quantum leap to comm and add several zeros to your bottom line.

That's not the message I get out of it. The message I take from that and what I see in the wealthy older people around me is that real wealth is not necessarily about membership of a forum, or even number of IPs or necessarily great achievements in careers / business. It is more about coming up with a strategy that works for you and replicating it over your lifetime.

These older gents sound like they know what has worked for them and will just keep doing it. No doubt they fully understand the power of compounding... and realise that the reality of what they do is spectacularly uninteresting and boring to the general population. Yet they are comfortable in knowing they enjoy it, it makes money and they couldn't care less what other people think about it. And they are still doing what they like doing at their age as a result. They have no need and/or interest in the internet. They have also been investing for long enough that they know the upside doesn't end here.

Most of all, these are the people we should be trying to learn from and emulate if we really want to be wealthy... as boring as they probably are! Remember how most people find RIP investors boring? You could probably triple that for investors in shopping centre distribution warehouses or office blocks...

In that vein Dazz, you must have picked up some tips from your time there you could share with us? :)

As an extreme introvert I find making friends and socialising with large groups of people I don't know very difficult. It usually takes me a while to warm to new people and a common comment I have received from people I know well is that they thought I was a snob when they first met me.

As a "single" female graduate in a mining town (Mr Natmarie is still in Brissie for the short term) i find it particularly difficult. I have made some great friendships in my immediate workgroup but not so as I would feel comfortable dropping over to their house on the weekends. Living in a small town where you basically socialise with the same people you work with is way too incestuous for me too - people have way too much time on their hands to gossip and make up rumours.

I certainly have no inclination to do the getting smashed at the Newman Club every weekend like everyone else either.

Funerals of old rich dudes are like that.
heaps of people between 70 and 90 all rich as rich. Never heard of SS or even typed a letter on a computer.
Heaps of $$ and lining up for who's next. :eek:

Very few? Out of ...90?
I know you are prone to extrapolate and exaggerate Dazz, and put a high degree of importance on the circle you seem to mix with, but come on now.

What does "come on now" mean Baywview ??

I simply recounted a chance meeting I had with 90 strangers a few days ago, none of which I had met before in my life....who were considerably older than me. Circle I seem to mix with ?? I had never met these people in my life ??

If you think my assessment of the crowd was exaggeration then so be it....but that was my impression. How you can comment on the crowd is beyond me ??

Dazz, this continual subliminal theme of the big comm investors are in a different lofty world than us sorry-@rsed small time resi boys is getting rather tiresome.

Why do you even bother to hang around here any more? We are not worthy.

I never mentioned anything about comm investors - that is entirely your assumption - which happens to be false. Your continual placing of people in pidgeon holes does you no credit. Read the text Bayview.

Based on my observations and having met some big hitters in the property world here in Adelaide, I agree that many of them, including some of the more successful (in raw dollar terms) have never even heard of Somersoft.

Thank you Rob - that is exactly what I was trying to convey.

Most of all, these are the people we should be trying to learn from and emulate if we really want to be wealthy... as boring as they probably are!

You are very inciteful HiEquity - you don't miss a trick, and hence why I invited you to join us.

In that vein Dazz, you must have picked up some tips from your time there you could share with us? :)

Yes indeed, I had the opportunity of asking Eric Ripper what his opinion was of the largest tenant in the CBD contemplating the move of distributing the Govt tenancies around the metro area ratehr than leaving them in and around the CBD as muted in the print press just a few days after. His response was considered and measured, essentially saying that the DSS in Cannington and Landgate in Midland were a success, but the public service were a fickle lot and would essentially demand to stay in the CBD....and hence there would always be a need for the Govt to source tenancies on St Georges Terrace. he wryly said that given that, the only thing left to do would be ensure that the Lanldord's gave the Govt a good deal. There was much merriment in the room on that point.

What does "come on now" mean Baywview ??
Read the text. It means; come on now, stop exaggerating. Pretty clear.

I simply recounted a chance meeting I had with 90 strangers a few days ago, none of which I had met before in my life....who were considerably older than me. Circle I seem to mix with ?? I had never met these people in my life ??
Nice try Dazz. We know you were loving intimating you can mix it with the big boys who are supposedly circling above computers and silly forums. Good for you if that's the truth. If it is; why hang out here with us light weights? The heavy weights don't as you say. We should aspire to that of course. I certainly do, but haven't gotten too big for my boots yet.
I can't wait until I'm a big-wig so I can wave of the newbs with their silly tenants, and keep all my vast wealth and knowledge to myself and be smug.

But how would you know they are computer illiterate and could buy your @rse several times over? As you described in your post, they wouldn't be divulging secret info that only the super rich have, to complete strangers such as yourself, and even less so.

The whole post doesn't add up.

If you think my assessment of the crowd was exaggeration then so be it....but that was my impression. How you can comment on the crowd is beyond me ??
Easy; it's a public forum and I can make any comment I like. Plus, I'm very sceptical of broad sweeping statements like "90 people - very few of them wouldn't know how to use a computer". It's simply an inane comment, you're insulting our intelligence and trying to go the big-note.

I never mentioned anything about comm investors - that is entirely your assumption - which happens to be false. Your continual placing of people in pidgeon holes does you no credit. Read the text Bayview.
No, you didn't mention comm. But, you don't have to. And speaking of pidgeon holing people; you give it a good crack.

We know from plenty of experience reading your posts over the years how your mindset is these days regarding resi V comm, and your mindset regarding the little resi investors V the big comm boys.

You just can't help yourself sometimes Dazz.

why hang out here with us light weights? The heavy weights don't as you say. We should aspire to that of course. I certainly do, but haven't gotten too big for my boots yet.

I am glad that Dazz does hang out with us "light weights". I have picked up a lot of fantastic information that I had never even thought of, and it has benn shaped into our plan. I am sure that any snippets that may come to the forum from the wiley group of investors will be gold or more so, CF+ solid investment.

Now I just need to build this equity a little more to find me a shed!