Pay Mrs D instead..?

Hey folks.

Hopefully just a quick question. I've asked my accountant but his response sounded even dodgier (long story).

I'm employed FT as a permanent employee, I've got an opportunity to also do some contract work on the side.

Is there a simple, legal, cost effective way to have the income from the contract work paid to my wife instead of me, as she is currently under the tax-free threshold, and this contract work won't push her over it. I'm currently in a much higher bracket.

I'm not a tax expert, but will the place you're contracting with let you make the agreement with a disc trust?

If so you could then route the income to yourself, wife, others as needed?

Run business under discretionary trust and forward to her as beneficiary.

I'm not a legal person - just how we do it!

Except I make the money and entire family benefits - reverse situation!

Can you do the contract work through a company structure?

Have your wife as a director of your company.

Company gets paid for work done (by whomever it chooses to complete the work).

Company pays directors fees (to whichever director it chooses - ie your wife).

Might not work this way - and you have to be careful of personal services income provisions (aka duck-test).

If your company looks like it was set up purely to avoid paying PAYG tax - ie the majority of the income for the company is from a single source and it doesn't do things in the way a business normally would, then it is probably not a genuine business and the ATO will insist that tax be withheld as if you are PAYG.

Basically, the company has to look like a company and quack like a company, otherwise it is a tax dodge and not a duck.

In other words, no, I don't see a simple way of doing this unless you are going to be consulting to multiple different businesses and will be invoicing them in a business-like manner and such.