Perth move - where to rent

What about beach life? I like Swanbourne.

Mount Lawley / Highgate will be good for a chardonnay socialist, but it's a bit far from the beach. Leederville / Mt Hawthorn is similar, less vibe IMO but closer to beach.

burnt, not overpriced. tho i think over priced is more the problem. why is coffee so exxy here? does everyone just want to rip you off then get down the beach a bit quicker? or are all the baristas off driving dump trucks in newman?

I met a lady a few years back who had an icecream shop in Freo. Off the top of my head she was paying her staff $25 an hour to serve icecream and had problems getting staff during the last boom. I remember hearing some restaurants had to shut down 'cause they couldn't get staff. You're probably right.

Where are you moving to Aaron?

Maybe Hillary's would be worth considering?? I'm not too sure of school catchments, OK shopping and cafe's though.

Loving Mt Hawthorn at the moment. Not a long drive at all to the shops, walk to the train in the morning, plenty of places to get a nice dinner. The Cabin has recently opened, great wine list and food to boot. Woolworths is clean and overpriced. A few clothes shops dotted around, small personal training studio, pilates studio, The "Paddo" pub which is getting better crowds by the week as they up the prices of alcohol and food. The New Norcia bakery mentioned previously has a great breakfast as does the Lush cafe set in amazing gardens, probably my favourite place for breakfast. Highly reccomend!

I'm assuming a 2 bed t/house (50sqm) in Osb Park for about 1/2 trhe rent amount you're willing to pay is out of the question

Close to the freeway & therefore convenient though.....

My advice would be to buy (edit: or rent :)) somewhere where you don't require the use of the freeway.

I recently moved up North to the beach and am currently looking to buy back in the inner city, purely because of the freeway... don't do it... you're better than that!

The beach is nice but using that freeway on a daily basis far outweighs the benefits.

By the way, the beaches in Perth aren't as popular as everyone says, I think people like to live near the beach, but don't necessary like to go to the beach. I think its too sandy.

that's because:

- most of them are cr@p
- they are blown out by 11am
- it's either too hot or too cold
- every now and then some old bloke gets eaten by a shark

The city is for working and socialising. If you want the beach, go to dunsborough

that's because:

- most of them are cr@p
- they are blown out by 11am
- it's either too hot or too cold
- every now and then some old bloke gets eaten by a shark

The city is for working and socialising. If you want the beach, go to dunsborough

I see heaps of people at the beasch each summer (in Perth, not Dunsborough). The majority of them seem mto be having a good time too

:confused:

i'm sure there are, just because the beach aint that flash doesn't mean you can't have a good time?

I guess I didn not udnerstand your comment about Perth being for work & Dunsborough for the beach then :confused:

With so many people using them, it would appear that Perth is not only for work :confused:

Highgate if you like hanging out with drunks and hookers as part of that bohemian greens agenda.

Perth is a good bet but a very small suburb.

Mt Lawley is chockas with champagne socialists - you see them out every day walking their babies in their mountain buggy prams and some kind of cloth nappy bag in tow proclaiming to be "green" on their way to the upmarkets to buy something made here with chinese produts.

Leederville is a nice spot. Pity about the constant detective busts and house raids, but it's a nice spot. you can get any number of overpriced burned coffees, stodgy fish and chips or something called "fusion" food, which tastes an awful lot like my nanna's attempt to cook black bean beef in her new, unseasoned wok. There's a pub, but that's shut during the day and opens on Wed-Sun night as a club, there's a chemist and a photo place, the TAFE has turned into a sport institute and there's a number of schools in the area.

Just up the road is Mount Hawthorn. I like Mt Hawthorn. It has an ACTUAL pub - no really! apparently it's "melbourne comes to perth", but they dont serve a great deal of alcohol and make judicious use of a DJ. oh, and a bakery - one that uses monks as slave labour an hours drive north of Perth is a sh*thole called "New Norcia" - it's an awesome place to get married (and i bloody mean it!) but i don't know about a town that uses monk labour to run everything - how is that productive? anyway, Mt Hawthorn has nurseries and shoe shops and a small shopping centre called "the mezz" whereby you get to pay a 20% premium on your dried apricots just because you're in Mount Hawthorn! awesome! if you dont want to pay a premium, you could always buy your chicken feed - sorry, fruit and veg - at the corner Four Square...sorry, Supa Valu.....oops, i meant IGA and while the teenager bags your groceries you can go next door and get a manicure while-u-wait.

Fremantle would suit most people quite well, especially considering you can actually classify yourself as bohemian AND a champagne socialist - Freo is a diverse populace of people who fit into no category at all, who don't mind sitting on dirty pavement and grotty chairs drinking burnt coffee and digesting the thick stench of the cattle ships with their chicken caesar watching bogans from Hammie Hill drop bog laps and the odd number 11 up the main strip in their hektik XF wit de sterios pumpin mut! and while you're bespectacled by the stupidity of painting a mid 80s family saloon in hyundai purple, some snot will nick your bag from around your ankle as you sit and watch the world go by. but that's okay - they probably needed the cash for their meth program.

If that's a bit too extreme, you could go live out the middle of bumf**k nowhere. Yep, South Yunderup is about as sterile as it gets and nice and "safe" for families, as long as you're happy being safe from anything - culture included. There's the odd school and 7 day IGA...oh and the estuary...which still stinks even after the channel.

Margaret River is the ideal spot for tourists and raising a family. Your child could become a pot smoking communist hippy who enjoys a surf and would one day like to own a skate shop in town, like his mate, and his mate, and his mate, and his mate, and....well, they ARE all individuals as part of mother gaia, you know.

so that's Perth. Clearly it's got nothing to do with what you make of it, it's just some backwater joke for people flying over from Victoria.

funny.....the eastern staters never seem to leave once they're here, though. maybe i should invest in that future beach front Wiluna landbank.

Very well explained........

Sounds more like a copy/paste job to me :rolleyes:

OP, for $800pw, you could almost choose anything/anywhere you want. You will notice most of those that have been mentioned are NOR - for a reason.