precient post

So back in May the media, the economists and the reserve bank were talking up interest rate rises and in the midst of all that came this:
http://www.somersoft.com/forums/showthread.php?t=71398
I am very new to the IP game and this post really got me thinking. I did a lot of reading and thinking and decided there was a fair chance Sash was right, we were probably at the top of the interest rate cycle. So... we went out and bought another IP, in an interest rate sensitive area. (Btw we did factor a couple of rate rises into our calculations just in case.)
So thanks to Sash for 'puting it out there'. Experienced investors willing to share their insights on this site have been fantastic for an L-plater like me.
Cheers, Ali

This probably won't make you feel good since you recently bought a property and I'm a major Australia is in a housing bubble that is going down supporter, but I made the call that the next interest rate move by the RBA is more likely a cut than a rise even earlier (Jan 2011):

http://www.somersoft.com/forums/showthread.php?p=755274&highlight=interest+rates#post755274

I think I'm going against consensus here, but hey, what's new

I think the next move the Reserve Bank makes up or down will be down.

So I'm going for stable and then interest rate cuts.

The UK and US central bankers have been keeping interest rates ultra-low to prop up asset prices despite the effect this has been having on food and energy prices in those countries which just goes to show where central bankers' priorities lie when push comes to shove. Also as recent events have shown in the face of deflation, central banks have started throwing out even their sacred mission of preserving the stability of the currency as well. Deflation really scares central banks.