Prime cost items, new build

Hi guys,

My builder recently submitted a claim for stage 5, one before completion.

According to contact, at this stage:

"All ceramic tiling installed, prime cost items installed, painting complete"

When I asked the builder about prime cost items, he mentioned since all the items in the house are priced for in the contract - I have a fixed price contract, there is no PC items to be installed.

This is confusing to me, say we agreed to have a specific oven, and it is listed in the contract, shouldn't this item be purchased and installed at this stage ? he wants to do all these at the final stage when only 5% of the total contract is payable.

I am refusing to pay him until I can see some of the prime cost items, such as range hood and oven to be installed.

This is my first time building a house through a house/land package.

I appreciate your advise,
Cheers,

Hi guys,

My builder recently submitted a claim for stage 5, one before completion.

According to contact, at this stage:

"All ceramic tiling installed, prime cost items installed, painting complete"

When I asked the builder about prime cost items, he mentioned since all the items in the house are priced for in the contract - I have a fixed price contract, there is no PC items to be installed.

This is confusing to me, say we agreed to have a specific oven, and it is listed in the contract, shouldn't this item be purchased and installed at this stage ? he wants to do all these at the final stage when only 5% of the total contract is payable.

I am refusing to pay him until I can see some of the prime cost items, such as range hood and oven to be installed.

This is my first time building a house through a house/land package.

I appreciate your advise,
Cheers,

It is common practice to install these items just before handover. Main reason is theft. A fair compromise would be to see the receipts for the purchase of these items and to allow the builder to install at the end.