Purchasing studio apartment Box Hill

Hi all,

I am about to purchase a studio apartment for about 200k. I would like to gain some wisdom from those of you who has been in the market for long period of time as to whether I should purchase it? It will be my first property so I am a bit anxious.

It is one bedroom and about one minute walk to train, tram shopping etc. It will be off the plan and settle in 2-3 years.

Any advice?

Regard YC.

There are 3 key reasons why I am choosing this over others.

First, it is off the plan and I can only purchase these property as I am still a student and has no income at least until end of next year.

Secondly, it is extremely convienant, as it is close to transport and shopping.

Thirdly, I think 200k is about the range which I can afford.

However there are two problem this it. First, the area is very small 20+ msq and secondly, it doesn't have carpark.

I think you will have a great deal of trouble getting finance for a studio of only 20sqm as most lenders will only consider anything over 50sqm.
20sqm is VERY small - sounds about right for a small motel room, and 200k sounds too much for that. What sort of rent is it likely to get?
Just because 200k is about the range you can afford doesn't mean that THIS property is worth that much.

I think you will have a great deal of trouble getting finance for a studio of only 20sqm as most lenders will only consider anything over 50sqm.
20sqm is VERY small - sounds about right for a small motel room, and 200k sounds too much for that. What sort of rent is it likely to get?
Just because 200k is about the range you can afford doesn't mean that THIS property is worth that much.

The rent been quoted is about 248 per week and guaranteed for 1 year, realistically I expect it to be around 200 mark.