Will you choose Parramatta for property investment?

It's my first time to think about property investment.

Currently I am really interested in an off the plan in Parramatta:
  • 500 metres from train station,
  • will be the highest apartment in Parramatta (40 levels)
  • besides Deloitte,
  • near NSW Police Force,
  • will be settled in the end of 2017 which can release my financial burden somehow,

The one I've already paid $5000 deposit is 80 sqm (unit area).
It's 2 bedrooms+2 bathrooms+1 carpark in level 9, cost is 747k.

It's for investment only.
My budget is up to 750k and I am only looking for off the plan as the first payment would be only 10% and I will pay another 10% when the apartment settled, which is more suitable for my financial situation.

The council has invested a lot in the develpment of Parramatta and surrounding area but 750k is still not a small number.

Anyone can give me suggestions (on price, location, expected growth etc)?

Last edited:
Why do you want off the plan? You are paying for a new building. Yes there are tax deductions on depreciation (but you are paying for it in the purchase price). On the off the plan it is hard to know the quality you are buying.

I prefer to buy older buildings with a great shell. Reason why is with older buildings it is easier to ascertain the quality of the build (just look at condition) and you are not paying a premium for the building. Further it is a lot easier to add value to the building. Do a $10k reno and you could add 30K to the value of the property on an old building. On a new building, well that is a lot harder to do.

From what I understand and my experience there is a lot more maintenace costs on a new building than a good old building. I know this is hard to believe but hear me out. People who rent out a good old building are not as fussy as to the condition of the property as someone who is renting a newish building, so you don't get so much repair crap requests.