Sydney property market-greenshoots?

I've been renting in a coastal Eastern suburbs for the last 13 years.

Around 2000 the advice from Robert Mellor at BIS Shrapnel was that Sydney property prices would fall after the Olympics. (He was wrong).

From the press I was reading at the time I kepth thinking Sydney property prices were a bubble waiting to burst. Yet the suburb where I rent was a buzz with substantial construction and renovations. This building/renovation frenzy continued unabated until 2003. In hindsight these savvy owners and developers rode the Sydney property market rise right up until 2005/2006 highs.

It is happening again in my suburb. There are 3 fairly major renovations/rebuilds out of 24 houses backing onto the lanway behind where I am.

When I drive into Sydney past Moore Park and Redfern/Waterloo unit developments on Moore Park Road there are 6 Meriton cranes working flat chat. Triguboff may have it wrong but I don't think so.

I recall that Meriton were prepared to sit things out with unsold units in World Square when it was completed a few years back and simply rent them out until the property market improved...now he can't seem to build units quick enough.

Alan Kohler showed a graph on ABC news last night showing a predicted large shortage of rental properties to happen in Sydney over the next 5 years and another graph showing rents rising well above CPI.

Is Sydney on the cusp of another property price boom?

IMO one or two more interest rate cuts could see this scenario happening.

Sydney

Dunno....all i know is there are NO HOUSES below 200k anymore in Sydney....

last year there were still a scattering in Western Sydney and South Western Sydney ...this year completely gone:eek:

Damn it (pardon my French)...should have picked up more when i had the chance!:mad:

Well according to Matusik clock in the latest API magazine Sydney is at 12 o'clock (Peak). Now THAT I don't understand. :confused: