Tiling grout questions

So I'm a self taught jack of all trades and one of them is tiling,

Never been taught by a professional I have a question about grout

As you are grouting, I use the sponge to wipe it down to smooth it out

However, every single time, unless I actually change the water every two minutes, the reisdue left over I have to get on my knees with a scraper and/or sandpaper sponge to get rid of the grout at the edge of every tile,

This process can take from half a day to a full day depending on how much residue is left over,

Admittedly, when the gap at the edge of wall is larger, I put extra grout in so it sinks in, but when it dries, I need to use a scraper at full strength to straighten it out

This process is further harder if I am tiling over an uneven floor, when the corners of the tiles,I need to scrape away fairly large chunks of grout, which is a fairly intensive process

what type of grout are you using ???

There is grout and there is grout.

I don't like the multipurpose grout where it's used to glue the tiles and grout as well, seems very messy and hard to get a good finish.

what type of grout are you using ???

There is grout and there is grout.

I don't like the multipurpose grout where it's used to glue the tiles and grout as well, seems very messy and hard to get a good finish.

Just the standard bunnings one

15kg paper bags or the 1kg odd plastic reddish coloured bag

Use Kemgrout.

2 water buckets; first one with sponge for bagging off, second for final wiping diagnally.

When final wipe bucket becomes too cloudy, make it the bagging off bucket, clean out first bucket and add fresh water to make the final wipe bucket.

Rinse and repeat (pun intended of course :cool: )

Having trouble with stuck grout? Small rag in a 50:50 mix of water:vinegar (testing in an obscure place first recommended).

pinkboy