Tradie rant thread

I really don't get tradies.
I'm sure there are a lot of decent ones around, but lately I've hit a brick wall.
They turn up really late, don't really seem to care, and just show a general disinterest.
I'm trying to organise a rear extension, so I'm getting quotes on site clearing, plumbing, slab, framing etc..
I've had no less than 6 or 7 turn up, take my plans, and never contact me again. It's left to me to chase them up and they still don't get back to me.
Don't these people want work? Seriously, is it any way to run a business?

OK now everyone rant!

Tradies

Dan,
When they can pick & choose you don't see them for dust. And if you do the majority will do a lousy job - just shove it together, grab the money & move on to the next one.
But just wait until jobs are scarce, then they are interested & often get stuck in & do a good job.

Years ago we wanted to turn a pantry into a toilet (the pantry door was closed off & opened then into the hallway) & a complete bathroom makeover. I contacted a company to find that unless I wanted a full extension they weren't interested.
A few years later this company went bust - moral, they forgot the little guys who had previously been their bread & butter. Sorry, but I can't say that I felt very sympathetic.
blossomoz

I have discovered that tradies needing work advertise in the local rag - when they are busy they pull the ads.

This is where I source them and so far I have found them pretty reliable.

Find a really good chippie, get him to come quote on the extension, and while he's there ask him whether he's got mates that can do the rest of the work.

They tend to run in packs. If you work with that you'll go fine.

asy :D

asy said:
Find a really good chippie, get him to come quote on the extension, and while he's there ask him whether he's got mates that can do the rest of the work.

They tend to run in packs. If you work with that you'll go fine.

asy :D

Agree with Asy here. In my experience, one good tradie usually knows another.... like any job, there are bad and good apples. I just think that a lot of them lack good business skills. Not something that all of them study at TAFE, apparently.
I can make comments like this as two of my three brothers are builders :)
Third one doesn't like to get his nails dirty, so took up business finance broking instead :D

Another reason lots of us tradies dont do private work any longer is that we get spoilt (compared to 10 years ago)in that the bigger builders pay us weekly or fortnightly directly into our bank accounts.

Its actually quite painfull chasing someone for money when you can get it drama free elsewhere.

Threatening to knock down someones brickwork isnt as much fun as it might seem or when they want to give you only half of stated price because "you make too much money" or because weve run out of money,can i give you half now and the other half NEVER.

Id also like to add that not all private jobs turn out this way.

Just another perspective.

BTW they probably only turned up to see if it was an easy job and quick killing.

further on beech's comments - if i find a good tradie/handayman etc i pay him immediately the job is finished, and if it's a big job i give a deposit to buy the materials. i always find that i then go to the top of their list for my next job.

- for example - spent months trying to find a decent demolisher for my knockdown. after not getting called back by about 4 of them, finally the guy (who's quote i accepted) just never turned up to do the job. i was desparate, as my quote period with the builder was running out, and rang another one on recommendation. he did get the job done about two weeks later and i paid him the day the site was cleared. now i need some fill and leveling done and rang him yesterday. guess what? he's doing it this morning for me. :p

and i agree - they run in gangs. i always ask for recommendations from those currently on my tradie books or from my pm. i have found pm's also a very good source.

hope this helps for the future.

lizzie
all comments are my opinion only

Very good advise Lizzy, it all comes down to moneyand respect, many people treat tradespeople as if they are doing the trade a favor by offering them work....this is laughable in todays market.
Us tradesman work hard for our money, very hard, it`s a general attitude thing, if you pay the right money and give a good impression most tradesman will turn up on time every time!, this is part of the very reason I am no longer a contractor.

Tradesmen? what Tradesmen?

In our 40 years experience, managing numerous IP's and projects, there are very few actual "tradesmen" out there these days, just a lot of low level workers who have the sole object of extracting exorbitant hourly rates for doing as little as possible, when it suits them to do so. If you do your research, which these days means calling at least a dozen "workers" to find perhaps two or three useful quotes, and are prepared to micro-manage the project right through, you will eventually come up with a satisfactory result. Also, the old adage of once having found someone reliable, stay with them, is questionable at best. Often, if you use them more than once, they regard it as an opportunity to recoup or extend their profit on the previous job. Actually, this post should be called ethics, what ethics, because the reality is most, not all, but at least 80%, possess very little ethics, standards etc....but thats not very different than is the case with a lot of other supposed professionals, including real estate agents...thats another thread though.

goodness phill - you must have struck a few bad ones in your day to have a rant like that :D .

me? i must have been very lucky and, asides from one useless twit handyman and a slow chippie that i quickly sent on their way, the other dozen or so tradies and handymen i've used over the years must come from the good 20%. hence i give them repeat work which they do promptly and for a very reasonable price.

perhaps it's also the way i treat them. as human's with lives and families to care for.

trust that there are some good ones out there and don't judge them all by the few bad apples.

lizzie
all comments are my opinion only

All blanket statements are wrong.

lucky_phil said:
In our 40 years experience, managing numerous IP's and projects, there are very few actual "tradesmen" out there these days, just a lot of low level workers who have the sole object of extracting exorbitant hourly rates for doing as little as possible, when it suits them to do so. If you do your research, which these days means calling at least a dozen "workers" to find perhaps two or three useful quotes, and are prepared to micro-manage the project right through, you will eventually come up with a satisfactory result. Also, the old adage of once having found someone reliable, stay with them, is questionable at best. Often, if you use them more than once, they regard it as an opportunity to recoup or extend their profit on the previous job. Actually, this post should be called ethics, what ethics, because the reality is most, not all, but at least 80%, possess very little ethics, standards etc....but thats not very different than is the case with a lot of other supposed professionals, including real estate agents...thats another thread though.

All blanket statements are wrong!

I find paying on the day gives me a sense of satisfaction and
sure encourages people to come back for good treatment.

Same in any business.

Why don't we put a positive spin on this?
I too have had crap experiences with doing business - but I've had lots of good ones:

I've got a great concreter that I am very happy with.
Plus a great Sparky.
And a great mechanic.
And a great car Airconditioning guy
and a great junior chippie
and a digger guy - responds well to cartons of beer. :)

Brisbane - Northside. PM me for details.

get them young

Hi everyone,

In my experience if you can score someone who's just started up on their own or someone who has not been tarnished by years of being mistreated by the bad apples in the general public then you are on to a winner.

We had our bathroom done by a guy who had an offsider who did most of the work. The offsider decided to go it alone after the bathroom was done so we got him to do a courtyard / pergola and verandah balustrade with a gate, decorative awning etc, etc on a federation house which saved us heaps and helped him get established too. ;)

Hey Lucky Phil maybe I should change my name to Lucky Jared. :D

Jared

Blossomoz is correct in my opinion.

When there is plenty of work around, tradies can pick and choose the work they want to do. Maybe they dont want to do an extension, when they can build brand new stuff, or your job might be a difficult site, or difficult plan.

Tradie organisation website

I was at an auction last weekend in Armadale, Vic and a fellow was handing out flyers....
Website Launch - www.elementsofhome.com.au
They claim they have exclusive lists of tried and tested tradespeople for all home improvement tasks...plumbing, rendering, electrical, tiling, painting, maintenance service, design service, gardening, new kitchens, air con, bathrooms, can cost renovations...and a waiting service (wait for tradie/service to arrive)
"specialising in the organisation and co-ordination of reliable tradespeople".
Call or email Rob to arrange FREE consultation m0412 183 643 [email protected]

this might be of assistance to someone....
(I don't personally know this company so I can't give any recommendations)