trying hard to buy a PPOR :eek:

Hello everyone,

I am new to his forum. One of my friend referred me on to this forum to get some advice and suggestions.

We have been trying to buy a property for about a month now. The budget is around the 650k mark. We were targeting few areas like - for houses: Glenwood, Castle Hill and Baulkham Hills... for town houses, duplex or villa - Bella Vista, Homebush, Asquith, Hornsby, Cherrybrook, Castle Hill and Baulkham Hills.

We must be doing something wrong because all good ones just don't stay on the market for more than a day. And I feel there is no stock at all... for the last one week I have been looking at the same houses getting listed and if there is one new house its already under contract.

Will there be new stock once spring sets in or this is going to be the case all along... any thoughts?

Also, given a choice between a 500sqm + block house in Glenwood and a townhouse in Bella Vista or Baulkham Hills or Homebush what will be a wiser option?

Kindly guide.

gday,

properties in this area are in high demand so they can get snapped up pretty quick, but I was watching the castle hill and surrounding areas for several months and saw properties regularly coming up. Sure some got sold pretty quick after the first open, but still if you act quick you should be alright.
Have you been making any offers yet?
If so, how far off the asking price?

Get in touch with several agents who deal in the area of interest.
Let them know exactly what you are looking for and a price range.
Hopefully find agents who will let you know of new listings.
Have your finances in order (know exactly how much you can borrow).
Be ready to inspect properties at short notice.
Do your homework thoroughly so you have a good idea of values.
Be ready to make a prompt offer on a property you are interested in.
Marg

I agree with Marg. Things are certainly picking up in those areas (and others). Let the agents know your budget and requirements.