whats going to go up in melbourne!

Hello - I'm new to this! I am looking to buy my first investment poperty very soon. Looking at areas like Glenroy, Fawkner, Coburg.....

Does anybody have any thoughts on which areas/suburbs are likley to give a good return in the future?

Thanks

Welcome to the forum maireadahayes, ......how long's a piece of string? Everything will go up given a decent time frame.

I don't know much about Fawkner, however Coburg and Glenroy are good areas and both now IMHO fully priced.

I don't know what your budget is, however the Glenroy end of Broadmeadows offers good value for 600-650 sq m blocks with rental houses on them for now and with development potential City of Hume is pro-development. It has good amenity, infrastrucutre and is still close to the city. Also one of the 2030 transit cities that state govt has ermarked for denser development.

If you are after units say in Coburg or Glenroy, then try for 2-3 BR and two bathroom, close (say 300-500 m) from a train and with amenity such as schools, shops, buses, etc.

Obviously they get cheaper the further you move out Broady cheaper than Glenroy, cheaper than Coburg, cheaper than Brunswick, etc. Have a search on the Where to Buy forum for those suburbs and see how you go.

Good luck

Last edited:
I don't know much about Fawkner, however Coburg and Glenroy are good areas and both now IMHO fully priced.

I agree that Coburg looks fully priced in that its recent increases have certainly been fairly full, but it's still the cheapest of the Ascot Vale, Essendon, Coburg, Brunswick, Northcote, Fairfield area.

There are some great character streets and it still probably has the cheapest californian bungalows within the 7km ring. (Excluding west)

Coburg has great public transport links, so finding tenants shouldn't be a problem, although if I had one of those nice character homes, I'd be very picky about the quality of my tenants.

demographers say.....why not frankston?