Where can I buy this...

Hi Guys,

This is my first post, so please be gentle. I am very new to the IP scene having purchased 1 interstate IP and still having no PPOR. I am now starting to think about IP 2 and wondering if anyone had any advice on an area to buy the following:

I am ideally hoping to purchase below $300,000. Looking for a house that can have a little bit of value added through cosmetic reno's on a block size large enough to be subdivided to sell off the 'new' rear lot. I would look to hold the original property seeking long term capital gains.

I am certainly not limited by its location within Australia and hoping someone could share the suburbs where this may be possible. All advice appreciated.

Cheers - Craig

Hi Craig,

Welcome to the forum. 300K is not much money these days.

In WA, try looking in Westfield/ Armamdale area where you can pick up duplex blocks with retain and build potential for around 300K.

In SA, try the Elizabeth area. You can pick up good deals with largish land area for 200Kish.

Good luck

welcome to forums

no offence but only everyone else in australia is asking the same question - where can they buy for under 300? consequently they are all throwing buckets of cash into adelaide north right now

there is no magic answer you just have to do the research and narrow it down to an area of your choice

Thanks for the responses guys,

As you state it is difficult - i have lost a little interest in WA during post boom times as I don't feel it offers the best value for money. At the moment I have been looking at some of the coastal areas about 1 hour from Adelaide but am hoping to get a few more options (QLD possibly, other parts of SA, other?).

great site and keep the posts coming.

If you are interested in Adelaide, you don't have to go to the farther northern suburbs (ie. Elizabeth) to get properties for under $300k.