Where to buy in melbourne with $50k in the bank?

Hey guys,

I'm a newbie and would love your insight into property investment in melbourne!
I'm 19 (so very new at this) and have a little over $50k in the bank making a little over 30k a year while being a full time student (studying commerce). I'm luckily/unfortunately on a health care card so im exempt from stamp duty. With all that in mind I most likely won't be able to borrow over $300k.

I've mainly looked into the bayside area since I'm from there. But with the amount I have I'd only be able to buy a house down towards Frankston. I don't won't a property with large negative cash flows because I wont be able to maintain it when interest rates increase.

Could you please provide some insight or tips on what I should do being as a young investor?

Thank you!!

Hey guys,

I'm a newbie and would love your insight into property investment in melbourne!
I'm 19 (so very new at this) and have a little over $50k in the bank making a little over 30k a year while being a full time student (studying commerce). I'm luckily/unfortunately on a health care card so im exempt from stamp duty. With all that in mind I most likely won't be able to borrow over $300k.

I've mainly looked into the bayside area since I'm from there. But with the amount I have I'd only be able to buy a house down towards Frankston. I don't won't a property with large negative cash flows because I wont be able to maintain it when interest rates increase.

Could you please provide some insight or tips on what I should do being as a young investor?

Thank you!!

Welcome to the forum, and congrats on having $50k at 19!

First step would be to chat to a reputable mortgage broker to see what your borrowing capacity is. A $50k deposit may mean $300k to spend for one person, $500k for another and $100k for someone else so you need to know exactly what you can spend.