where to buy - Sydney $400-500k?

Hi all,

I am a relative newbie to the forums. I've been following things for a while and have read and learnt some interesting and useful things from the site. Thanks for the info.

Currently I own:-

An appartment in Manly (NSW).
A duplex in Cessnock, NSW - I sourced the land, appointed a builder and rented them out (with the help of a project manager).

For my next foray into the world of property investing I am thinking of getting my hands dirty:- I'd like to buy a place and do some renovations to it - hopefully adding value and increasing the potential rental return of the property.

I'm about to start some one on one coaching from www.winningformulasforsuccess.com. Hopefully this will arm me with some more knowledge to analyze a potential renovation project prior to purchasing the property.

Anyway, my question for you all....I live in Manly, NSW. I would like to purchase something that is relatively accessible for me with some renovation potential in the $400-500k range in the Sydney / Newcastle / Wollongong area.

Any suggestions of suburbs / areas to look at would be much appreciated.

I'd also be interested in any useful tips that people may have.
Thanks
Nick

....I live in Manly, NSW. I would like to purchase something that is relatively accessible for me with some renovation potential in the $400-500k range in the Sydney / Newcastle / Wollongong area.

Well you could start in your own backyard with a 2brm unit in need of a reno on the Northern Beaches.
You could try the same with a 2brm unit in the Inner West.
You could do a house in need of a reno out Parramatta way - Guildford / Merrylands etc.
In Newcastle you could pick up a 2-3brm renovator in the suburbs close to the CBD like Tighes Hill, Carrington, Wickham, Mayfield etc also.
Lots of choices - all good for CG too.

All the best with it.

Last edited: