Which Bank?

I am starting off my investment career and wanted to know if anyone has recommendations for banks that they use. Is it possible over time to build a relationship directly with a bank or is that a laughable notion in itself because to a bank, no matter how much wealth you hold with them, the relationship will only always be a numbers game?

I was thinking of using the Commonwealth Bank and attempting to start a relationship with them as they have Commsec for a trading platform, but they are already off to a bad start in my eyes as they don't have a very good offset account to start with.

I also understand the other side of having a sole relationship with a bank due to cross collateralisation, cross securitisation and the "all monies" clause.

Or Would it be better to use a mortgage broker and then allow them to structure and spread all lending across various lenders to suit your situation?

I am a broker so this will sound biased (so take from it what you will) but I wouldn't bother trying to establish a good relationship with any bank.

In this game, spreading your exposure amongst lenders, avoiding cross coll, being up to speed with each lenders niches and carefully choosing the right lender as you accumulate each property is important.

No single bank can do this - but many of the decent brokers out there (particularly on this forum) who deal with multiple lenders can.

Cheers

Jamie

I am starting off my investment career and wanted to know if anyone has recommendations for banks that they use. Is it possible over time to build a relationship directly with a bank or is that a laughable notion in itself because to a bank, no matter how much wealth you hold with them, the relationship will only always be a numbers game?