Who can work as a Book keeper

Without creating an augment on about qualifications and why one needs them etc

Who can do the book keeping for a small business does one really need to have a cert111 in whatever and/or be a member of some bookkeeping association

Last edited:
Any employee can do the books for a business, my assistant does mine and she doesn't have any formal qualifications.

I believe you do need to meet some more extended requirements if you're going to do book keeping if you're doing it professionally however.

Anyone can do the books, but to SIGN and LODGE a BAS you must be the authorised person for the account.
ie: your staff can do the books and prep the BAs but you must sign it and lodge it. ( in theory) what that means is if your staff make a mistake, it all comes back to you.

who can sign a BAS

Do I need a CertIV

I got my Cert IV just to get the piece of paper for the work I have been doing since GST came in in 2000 (and book work long before that). Wthout a Cert IV I could "do" BAS for my business but not for husbands :rolleyes: pfft like he would have any clue where to start :)

I got my Cert IV just to get the piece of paper for the work I have been doing since GST came in in 2000 (and book work long before that). Wthout a Cert IV I could "do" BAS for my business but not for husbands :rolleyes: pfft like he would have any clue where to start :)

LOL. I do everything property related, paying bills, balancing money in and money out and hubby wouldn't have a clue. But that is fine. I just put a bit of paper under his nose, a pen in his hand and say "sign here".

When I have to ask an insurer, or bank anything, I hand the phone to him to identify himself and he hands it back to me. At times, I've had to tell him the answers to the questions he has been asked, especially if they want to know what loans we have etc. He doesn't even know the questions I need to ask, let alone want anything to do with the answers.