yeild data

Hi
I am fairly new to this and this is my 1st post.
Does anyone have advice on sources of yeild data for IPs. I have tried using newspapers to calculate data from current rents and prices but it is probably a pretty rough method. Is there any other good sources apart from buying the market stats from REI or similar agencies, which can be a bit expensive.
Ta

Hi Not So Lucky & welcome to the forum!

There are sources out there, but which apply depends on your area.

Allhomes (www.allhomes.com.au) is fantastic for the ACT. FOr other states & territories you may find it harder to discover comprehensive information online for no charge....however you can refer to real estate sites, newspapers (as you mentioned) and also build up good relationships with real estate agents or property valuers who can make the information available to you.

You can also look for property investment publications. The REQ does a great one for Queensland & Australian Property Investor generally has a lot of data in the mag - though the areas it covers each month are different.

Cheers,

Aceyducey

Hi and welcome,

For SEQ you can use www.rta.qld.gov.au
It has lots of useful info, including residential yields by suburb and property type and its free. The yields are downloadable and get updated in every quarter.

Once you've zeroed in on an area, you could try asking agents about rents for tenanted properties you're thinking of buying.

Sometimes the bank may require evidence of rent - it's no hassle to get the PM to put it in writing.

Sometimes the actual rent charged might be less than market value. This may either be because the PM hasn't reviewed the rent, the landlord is friends with the tenant or the tenant did some work on the property in exchange for lower rent.

It should be possible to identify significant departures if you compare the actual rent with those of the agent's rental list for similar properties.